The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IMAP Not Syncing -- Using Exim

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by mdr994, Sep 30, 2013.

  1. mdr994

    mdr994 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    First, I'd like to apologize if there's a post like this... I've been searching the forums for quite some time, and I've searched across the net, and have found no solution to this.

    I currently am on a VPS, running CENTOS 6.4 x86_64.

    I've got Exim 4 installed, no errors in the MainLog except when I send an e-mail it will "QUIT" on me, then send the e-mail. I've spent 2 weeks so far, and as far as I know I've been able to "successfully" and I say that loosely setup rDNS for these domains imap.infin-ity.net and smtp.infin-ity.net or... extensions if you want to call them that.

    Anyways, point being I can send and receive e-mails perfectly fine.

    However, I CANNOT, sync the Sent folder for e-mails to my phone.

    I use AquaMail and it auto grabs the folder names from the server, (yes I'm using IMAP...) and it hasn't sync'd to the Sent folder once. I've searched every post in their forum, nothing. I've also got a family member who CANNOT sync the Sent folder, and he's using AquaMail Pro, plus he's had the app longer than I have, he knows what every option does in that app and how to properly set it up. (he's got multiple accounts on there set with IMAP, GMail, Zoho, etc.) The only difference in the two is that you can create more than 2 accounts in the Pro version...

    I'm stuck and I have been stuck. I can successfully send e-mail with the Outgoing Server set as smtp.infin-ity.net, port 587, no security and the Incoming Server set as imap.infin-ity.net, port 143, no security.

    I'm not using SSL because I'm having issues with GoDaddy right now about my SSL cert.

    Moving on, my goal is to eventually setup a mail site where people can register e-mails, blah blah blah. So, I figured those two "sub" domains would suffice.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    As I said, I've been stuck on this for at least 2 weeks now and I can't for the life of me figure it out.

    ALSO, I have re-installed cPanel 3 times during this process because I messed up quite a few settings.

    I'm nowhere new to cPanel, used to have a mail server running just fine... this time I just didn't remember how to set it up *properly*? I guess.
     
  2. mdr994

    mdr994 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not sure if this helps or not... but... all the web mail clients have the Sent folder as INBOX.Sent, same with Drafts, Trash, etc.

    But AquaMail is supposed to "auto" grab the name, so if it does, then why does it just say Sent in AM? Shouldn't it say .Sent or something? Also, in Mozilla Thunderbird the path to the folder is INBOX/Sent with no way to edit it, and again, supposedly "auto" grabs. If I create a folder in the web mail clients, it shows up just fine in AquaMail.
     
  3. mdr994

    mdr994 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Very sorry for the posts over and over, not trying to spam... I just feel dumb, it's worked in 4 other e-mail apps. So this for some reason brings me back to the reverse DNS. Maybe AM requires feedback from a rDNS test it does? Maybe it just doesn't support exchange... or cPanel e-mails? I've got my rDNS setup... but when I go to mxtoolbox.com it says the rDNS failed, yet I can dig in SSH and it works perfectly fine, I can ping the imap. and smtp. domains and they both ping back with the IPs I set them to, so I'm not sure on this one, but I've got myself this far... so I'll stick to doing more research.

    Again, sorry for the replies, if anybody has a solution for anything I have said... by all means post it.

    But I have narrowed down to my IMAP now working 100%, and just AquaMail isn't working. I have all the prefixes set to INBOX. which all the apps DID automatically grab, I saw it in the settings of the app when setting up the dummy e-mail accounts.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You may want to check directly with AquaMail support to see if there are any specific options you can modify to ensure the correct folder names are fetched. The following resources they provide may be helpful:

    AquaMail: English: FAQ - Aqua Mail
    AquaMail Forum - Index

    Thank you.
     
  5. mdr994

    mdr994 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I originally did that, but I did e-mail the dev and I figured it out. I have everything working properly now... I feel like all of this was obvious and I just wasn't paying attention.

    Thank you for the reference tho. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page