The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Implementing space upgrade when using a cPanel package

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by meeven, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. meeven

    meeven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry for the rather obscure sounding title, but the problem I am facing is this: I have defined packages with specific disk space limits. Many of my clients frequently exceed it across all the packages, but are reluctant to move to the next higher package as they are non-profits.

    Is there a way to allow them to buy additional disk space and only pay for the additional space they use? For example, someone starts with a 100 MB package, hits the limit and purchases an additional 50 MB, uses it until that limit (150 MB) is crossed, purchases an additional 50 MB and so on.

    I can handle the billing side of this, but I am not sure if cPanel will allow such purchase of additional disk space when a package with specific disk limits has been defined.
     
    #1 meeven, Oct 1, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2008
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, this is possible. However, it is considered bad practice since updating your package will overwrite any changes you have made to individual accounts using that package.

    To modify an individual account to boost their disk quota from 100 MB to 150 MB, simply go to WHM -> Account Functions -> Modify an Account like you would for an account that didn't have a package assigned to it. Then modify the account, specifying the disk quota as 150 MB and save your changes.

    However, these modifications will be overwritten if you modify the package in the future - even if that modification does not alter disk quotas.
     
  3. meeven

    meeven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It does seem that modifying the packages may be a better/error-free solution than modifying the account quotas on an individual basis.

    Is there another option, though? What if I don't define any packages and let people define their custom requirements (space, email accounts, sub-domains, mysql dbs etc.)? This throws up the following questions:

    • Can cPanel handle this gracefully and would modifying an account's quota be problematic in this case?
    • Can the same cPanel server have both packaged and non-packaged accounts?
    • If I choose to go with non-packaged accounts (custom configuration), does cPanel have an API that I can integrate into my billing applicaiton? I am not necessarily thinking of automatic account set up - just the billing angle.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is certainly possible in a cPanel/WHM environment. However, this process is usually best for smaller hosting operations. In large hosting environments, keeping track of which accounts have which privileges can become a burden.

    Additionally, in my personal experience, I've noticed that many billing applications prefer to work with packages rather than individual settings for individual accounts. However, if your billing solution supports coping with such things, then your largest hurdle for this has been overcome.


    Currently, cPanel/WHM will gracefully handle modifying an account when it is not assigned to a package.

    Yes, the same cPanel/WHM server can have both packaged and non-packaged account. However, a more pertinent question would be if your billing system supports such a setup as I mentioned above.

    Billing applications typically use our XML-API. You can read more about this at http://www.cPanel.net/plugins/xmlapi
     
  5. meeven

    meeven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you for all the answers. I really appreciate your detailed explanation. I don't think I could have got such categorical replies elsewhere :)
     
    #5 meeven, Oct 2, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page