The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Important client's IP listed in CBL, where to whitelist it?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bartek, Oct 6, 2005.

  1. bartek

    bartek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Like the subject explains, I have a client who is listed in CBL http://cbl.abuseat.org/ . I asked for removal, which they did, but it was relisted again.
    Is there a place in Exim someplace where I can whitelist the IP? It changes often, but I guess the whole subnet is blacklisted.
    I've gone through the conf file, but don't see where to edit this.
    tx
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It depends on how you are blocking email using CBL? Or is it a spamassassin scoring issue?
     
  3. bartek

    bartek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Aside from adding http://www.configserver.com/free/eximdeny.html , I'm running default config. Spamassassin is enabled. Error I was sent was:

    Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.

    Subject: Testing new
    Sent: 10/3/2005 4:23 PM

    The following recipient(s) could not be reached:

    First Name (user@domain.com) on 10/3/2005 4:23 PM
    554 5.7.1 Reject; Client host [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] blocked using cbl.abuseat.org; Blocked - see http://cbl.abuseat.org/lookup.cgi?ip=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    I have no idea what's calling cbl.abuseat.org :(
     
  4. destr0yr

    destr0yr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC.
    CBL generally blocks you if you haven't setup a hostname for the machine. SSH to your machine, telnet to localhost on port 25 and see what Exim says as your hostname. If its 'localhost' or anything not proper (as stated http://cbl.abuseat.org/lh.html), set it to a proper hostname, like "boatanchor.yourdomain.tld". Be sure to setup the appropriate A record in DNS and restart Exim.

    If you have a VPS you may need to contact your host and ask them to set the hostname statically. VPS software (Virtuozzo) normally requires your hosts' support guys to set it up, otherwise it'll reset back to localhost if the system is reboot.
     
    #4 destr0yr, Oct 6, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2005
Loading...
Similar Threads - Important client's listed
  1. John Tadros
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    164

Share This Page