The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Important : FRONTPAGE POTENTIAL PROBLEM!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shiekron2, Jul 12, 2002.

  1. Shiekron2

    Shiekron2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This has been brought up from a reseller client who has had problems with his frontpage extenions, and something new in WHM reseller.

    [quote:c578fc80e7]
    In the past, after I added new accounts, I would click on &Add Frontpage Extensions& & &Add FrontPage Mail Extensions& and it would go through the domains I have listed and list any of my domains that need the extensions installed and show those domains.

    I just preformed this action and a large list of domains appeared that were not mine. I guess that they are the other domains on the server.

    This has never happened in the past and I wanted to make you aware that this has happened, if this should cause problems on the other domains. I have no idea why it found the other domains.

    You need to make sure that any changes made by any CPanel reseller do not affect anyone elses domains.
    [/quote:c578fc80e7]

    Is anyone having the same problem, or is it just me?
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think perhaps the addfpmail script was updated last evening, and a few bugs have been spawned. Actually I'm sure it was updated at this point- I'll attempt to get this escalated.

    Basically you're saying a reseller saw the entire list of domains on the server echoed back at them (including theirs) , when they said &add fp mail& to a particular site?
     
  3. Shiekron2

    Shiekron2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Only when installing FP.
     
  4. hst

    hst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same thing happend to me

    When FrontPage web extentions are installed, it now searches for domains without mail extensions and automatically updates them all and list them. Actually to me it seems to work better but I do all the account adds for our resellers.
     
  5. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    btw this was part of a larger issue, well, sort of....

    just FYI:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=3714
     
  6. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Only the first person that installs FP will see that list. The next time it is done the only domain on the server without mail extensions should be the owners domain. If the admin clicks install FP mail in the WHM no one will see domains they don't own.
     
  7. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    well I take what I said back.. my FP is SCREWED!!!!

    I just took a look in /usr/local/frontpage and threw up.

    Every fine in there was written to last time someone ran FP extensions. Now the files are named liek this.

    www.www.domain.com:80.cnf
    www.www.domain.com:80.cnf

    and the groups and users ownerships and all messed up as well.

    it looks like it lets down to domains that start with &w& and then that is where I see filenames starts with &www.www&

    also inside these files I see pail pointing to webmaster@www.www.domain.com and so on. More problems I am having ..borders are broke as well. 10 people in 24 hours FP issues.
     
  8. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Ok...even more weird. I open a brand new site. I install FP. i then publish with FP a site with borders and themes and all that crap. It's works fine. I thin re-install FP extensions and they break. Hoping this only on new domains I checked others and all my old customers that were using borders are broke. HELP!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page