The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Incorrect MD5 checksums

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pcdior, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. pcdior

    pcdior Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    After upgrading my kernel, and using the lastest version of rkhunter I get Incorrect MD5 checksums for /sbin/insmod , depmod and modinfo.

    I run this:

    rpm -qf /sbin/insmod
    rpm -qf /sbin/depmod
    rpm -qf /sbin/modinfo

    and get this:

    root@host4 [~]# rpm -qf /sbin/modinfo
    modutils-2.4.25-14.EL
    root@host4 [~]# rpm -qf /sbin/depmod
    modutils-2.4.25-14.EL
    root@host4 [~]# rpm -qf /sbin/insmod
    modutils-2.4.25-14.EL

    The kernel on this machine is now 2.6.9, prior to doing the upgrade I ran and rkhunter scan and all was ok, it was only after the kernel upgrade and also upgrading rkhunter.

    RedHat Enterprise 3, which is supported by rkhunter, any ideas, suggestions or things I should do?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    After installing rkhunter v1.1.9 you should run:

    rkhunter --update

    Then rerun rkhunter and see if you still have problems.
     
  3. pcdior

    pcdior Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello Chirpy,
    I have been running 1.1.8 and always run rkhunter --update prior to scanning and it says everything is updated, should I uninstall 1.1.8 and do a fresh install of 1.1.9? Just wondering if this would perhaps benchmark things differently? But I do update everytime I run rkhunter.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You can just install version 1.1.9 over the top of any previous version and running the older version would explain the errors you're seeing.
     
  5. pcdior

    pcdior Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the reply again, I did the install of the latest 1.1.9 and got the same results, prior to the kernel upgrade I had a rough apache experience when I updated mysql, then I did the kernel upgrade. I think it may have been one or the other that through something off. Thanks for your help, I will keep trying to look into it. Everything else shows up fine. Thanks again!
     
Loading...

Share This Page