The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

incorrect qota used for email account

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by ullalla, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. ullalla

    ullalla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am facing this issue for some of the email accounts, suppose I have allocated 10 mb space to the email account then it shows suppose 12 mb used and there are no emails in inbox or trash or sent items folder.

    is there any suggestion on this?

    Your quick response is appreciated.
     
  2. UmbraHosting

    UmbraHosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you have shell access to the server? If so, you can login and navigate to the user's mail directory which is located within the home directory for that user. From there, you can run the following command in order to see where the disk space usage is coming from.

    # du -h --max-depth=1

    This will show you a listing of disk space usage by folder allowing you to find and remove the mail that is taking up the space.
     
  3. ullalla

    ullalla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    Thanks for your atttention on this but the real issue is that the email account is showing the incorrect space used though there are no emails in inbox.

    Thanks.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is a bug with recalculating maildirsize, which is used to display how much space is being used. This will be fixed in the next release (in QA testing now).

    edit:

    sorry, forgot to tell you how to fix it now:
    /scripts/regenerate_maildirsize --force --allaccounts
     
  5. innsites

    innsites Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    mailbox quotas are incorrect.

    This does not work for me......no such script??
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry, I typed it from memory, the script is named /scripts/generate_maildirsize
     
  7. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    what does this error mean:
    Skipping main domain for <USERNAME> (missing from user's file)
    what file is it referring too here ??

    Mickalo
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Looking at that portion of the script it checks for:

    1) The domain name in /var/cpanel/users/username

    2) The domain name in /home/user/mail/example.com

    If it fails either of those checks, that error message is displayed
     
  9. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i got the same problem back years ago after migrating accounts from VPS and finally found the answer.. i have about 100+ accounts having such problem

    when i run /scripts/generate_maildirsize, it only fix about 30 accounts.. is this correct?

    thanks!
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Which problem? The Skipping main domain for <USERNAME> (missing from user's file) problem or a different one?

    If the problem is the one bolded in this message, then you need to address the two points I raised in my prior response. My guess off hand is that the non-fixed accounts are missing the /home/user/mail/example.com directory

    Please note, the example.com domain in the file path above should be the actual domain name associated with the account, I'm only using example.com for example purposes.
     
  11. ullalla

    ullalla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    this script doesn't work , gives the error

    -bash: ./regenerate_maildirsize: No such file or directory


    Please let me know if anyone having solution to this problem.
     
  12. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your report suggests one of two situations:
    1. You are trying to execute the regenerate_maildirsize script from the current directory, and your current directory is not /scripts. If so, please execute /scripts/regenerate_maildirsize
    2. Your current directory is /scripts but the file does not exist. If so, execute /scripts/upcp --force to force an update. Either you are running a very old version of cPanel or somehow deleted that script. The upcp will fix that.


    If neither of those situations describe yours, please open a support ticket with your license provider so we can take a look at what is happening with your server.

    ON the off-chance you are not the server administrator, or a reseller with the proper access to /scripts, then you need to contact your system admin to have that script executed.
     
  13. trinity1511

    trinity1511 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Once again from your memory...

    Hi cpanelkenneth.... the problem is that you're typing it from your memory again :rolleyes:, remember the correct command is
    Code:
    /scripts/generate_maildirsize --force --allaccounts
     
  14. bayo

    bayo Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    quota email not only inbox, include Trash, and spam.

    You can check with cpanel - file manager-
    Go to folder mail / domainname /

    check trash , sent mail, and spam.

    You can delete or download it.
     
  15. trich

    trich Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
Loading...

Share This Page