Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Incorrect Server Main IP in Add an A Entry for your Hostname

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kujoez, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. kujoez

    kujoez Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    When I go to "Add an A Entry for your Hostname" the IP suggested and listed for the "Server Main IP" is the server's old IP address and not the new one. I removed the old IP from the server and every place I could find it but it's showing up here. For completeness sake, how do I change that IP listed there to the new one? Thanks!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,513
    Likes Received:
    424
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you looked at the DNS zone itself?
    WHM > DNS Functions > Edit DNS Zone, your.hostname.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Nimmi

    Nimmi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also, make sure that the new IP address corresponding to your hostname has PTR record /RDNS entry set to hostname.
     
  4. kujoez

    kujoez Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Yes, I deleted and re-added the DNS entry for the hostname a few times without any luck. The DNS records externally are correct (I changed the IP to my old server IP so the DNS didn't change externally).
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,167
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Please ensure the new IP address is used in the following file:

    Code:
    # /var/cpanel/mainip
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. compufixpro

    compufixpro Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you! I've been looking for this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice