The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Incorrect Values of Directory Contents

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Audiopro, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. Audiopro

    Audiopro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The disk usage levels in 'List Accounts' was reporting totally incorrect values and the directories in File Manager are also showing values which are totally incorrect.
    My ISP have sorted the 'List Accounts' problem out by (quote) "Making some changes" but the directories, in file manager, are still reporting incorrect values.
    The ISP have spent several hours trying to sort out the problem and have informed me that as my server is unmanaged, it is up to me to sort it out.
    As I pointed out to them, if it still stumps them after a couple of hours, what chance do I have, as a relative novice, of sorting it?
    Given the tools I can manage the server myself but where do I start looking to fix an issue which should be working no matter how the server is configured?
     
  2. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Can you give an example of the "totally incorrect values" you're referring to in File Manager?
     
  3. Audiopro

    Audiopro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The directory size is reporting only about 4Kb but the contents are far greater.
    I have since been told that this is normal behaviour as calculating all of the directory sizes would put extra strain on the server and would slow it down, which I suppose makes sense. Why do they waste extra resources , by putting incorrect values there in the first place unless there is an option somewhere to actually calculate the values?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Have you verified the files within those directories are owned by the account username? Also, have you tried running "/scripts/fixquotas" to see if any errors are output?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    On Windows, open up Explorer to a directory of directories and note the "Size" column for those directories is blank, no value.
    On Mac, open up Finder to a directory of directories and note the "Size" column shows only --, no value.
    In your FTP client, open up your website and view the size for the directories, you should note a similar behavior here as well, no value.

    In your cPanel > Files section > Disk Space Usage



     
Loading...

Share This Page