The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Index Of" Description

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CheesyBeanz, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. CheesyBeanz

    CheesyBeanz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Not sure if this is in the correct forum, so MOD's please move it if it isn't, thanks.

    I have on my server, several directories on my domain, each hosting many PDF's for my customers; Each PDF is password protected. When my customers access the directory, they see their PDF's and each has a Name, Last Modified, Size and Description Column. How do I get the Description Column to show the description of the pdf file? I have entered descriptions everywhere all over the PDF but I still cant get it to show.

    Thanks.
     
    #1 CheesyBeanz, Nov 6, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 6, 2013
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You will need to add the "AddDescription" values in the .htaccess file. EX:

    Code:
    AddDescription "The Test Image" test.jpg
    Thank you.
     
  3. CheesyBeanz

    CheesyBeanz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Sounds simple enough. I've never made a HTAccess file before, is this all I need to put in the file bearing in mind, it'll only ever contain pdf's and the htaccess file itself?

    Sorry for asking, but I'm a complete newbie.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that is the only line you will need to place in the file assuming you only want to add a description to a single file. You must add that entry in the .htaccess file for each file you want to create a description for.

    Thank you.
     
  5. CheesyBeanz

    CheesyBeanz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I've just tried it and it doesn't appear to work. Thanks for your help anyway. I'll have to do without.
     
  6. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you notice that the filename is .htaccess ? Starting with a dot and lowercase.
     
  7. CheesyBeanz

    CheesyBeanz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes, that how I named the file, I already knew it started with a dot and in LC. Does the server have to have anything enabled for this to work?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The AutoIndex Apache module is required, however that should be compiled by default:

    Code:
    # httpd -l|grep autoindex
      mod_autoindex.c
    Thank you.
     
  9. CheesyBeanz

    CheesyBeanz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I added that to the .htaccess file but it's still not allowing the description to be shown.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should not add that to the .htaccess file. That's the output of a command that is ran via SSH. You may want to consult with your hosting provider for additional assistance.

    Thank you.
     
  11. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you added that to the .htaccess file you should get a 500-error.

    If you didn't get the error it must mean that .htaccess is disabled.
     
  12. CheesyBeanz

    CheesyBeanz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I didnt get any error, I was able to view the files as normal but without the description. Does my hosting provider have to enable it or can I do it cpanel?
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page