The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indexing Parked (alias) domain ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dxer, Jun 6, 2017.

  1. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Europe
    I have parked domain on top of main domain.
    How can I make Google to index this parked domain name and show it in search results?
     
  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The previous post should help. Let us know if you have any additional questions.

    Thank you.
     
  4. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Europe
    Ok, I did that but status is marked as !Redirected .
    Not sure if this is OK ?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Are you redirecting the URL as it appears in the browser address bar through any rules in your .htaccess file, or in the script installed in the website's document root?

    Thank you.
     
  6. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Europe
    I used cPanel feature Aliases which I belive is former Parked domains , right ?
    I just want to set this correct so Google will fetch this parked domain properly.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that's correct.

    To clarify, when you visit the domain alias via a web browser, does another domain name appear in the address bar?

    Thank you.
     
  8. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Europe
    When I visit domain alias, immediatelly it is switch to main domain on top of which this domain alias is parked.
    This is how this feature domain alias is working.
    Should I change something and how ?
    Thanks
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's not the intended behavior. This suggests rules in your .htaccess file, or in the script installed to the website are redirecting requests to the primary domain name.

    Thank you.
     
  10. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Europe
    Like I said, I used domain alias feature in cPanel. This is how this feature works, you should know.
    If this is not good for Google search engine, please tell me how to set this correctly
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    For instance, try uploading a simple test HTML file to the document root of the domain name and accessing the file over the aliased domain name in the web browser (e.g. aliased-domain.tld/123.html). Does the domain name in the address bar still change? If not, then it's the script you are using, and not cPanel, that's redirecting the domain name in the address bar.

    Thank you.
     
  12. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Europe
    I did this test and this domain alias stays, it is not redirected . But when I enter just domain alias name, without specific page/path, it is redirected to main domain.
    BTW....we are talking about Wordpress website. Anything I can change so it will not redirect to main domain ?
    So I am still not sure how Google will fetch this or if it will fetch at all because of this ?
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You may find this post helpful:

    How to prevent automatic redirection?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page