The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

individual domain backup problem

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by mrbenno, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. mrbenno

    mrbenno Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello Everyone.

    I have a problem and I cannot seem to figure it out. Any help appreciated.

    Please keep in mind that I do not have root access on the destination server, merely a reseller login that has a restricted set of WHM controls.

    I used to own my own hosting company and I recently sold it and I now have a reseller cPanel account with a new provider. I wish to move some personal domains from my old server to the new reseller server.

    I have logged into each domain's own cPanel login and created a 'full backup' I then create the account on the new server but there is no option that I can see to "restore a full backup". There is only restore a homedir or sql or mail.

    So I then created backups of the homedir, sql and mail on the source server and then uploaded them to the new server and it restores the files but the database users don't seem to come over properly.

    The websites in question are all Joomla! websites and so without the database functioning correctly the sites don't load on the new server.

    Does anyone know a way to restore a single domain "full backup" to a new server?

    Cheers,
    Ben.

    PS. I did use the search function first without a solution.
     
    #1 mrbenno, Jul 6, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2007
  2. elevenx

    elevenx Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I believe you may have to ask your web host to do this for you.
     
  3. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Restoring backups is an option for "root" ...

    You will need to contact the provider where you get your reseller account
    and they should be able to do this for you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page