The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Inital Server Name Server setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by neil_rutherford, Oct 9, 2003.

  1. neil_rutherford

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Received the new server with CPanel, logged in and was overwhelmed
    (I'm a WHM/Dedicated server virgin).
    Spent an hour going through each option to discover it doesn't
    look that bad after all.

    Could someone tell if I did the right thing, server was delivered with:

    ServerName: foxgroup01
    IP: 69.56.194.186

    I renamed the server to: foxgroup.co.uk (which we own the domain for).

    Enabled name servers with the following:

    ns1.foxgroup.co.uk 69.56.194.186
    ns2.foxgroup.co.uk 69.56.194.187

    Updated the domain DNS name server addresses for carp365.com to

    ns1.foxgroup.co.uk 69.56.194.186
    ns2.foxgroup.co.uk 69.56.194.187

    I know what you're thinking.. wrong nameservers... here is where
    I hopefully complete the chain.

    Updated foxgroup.co.uk (which is still working it's way around the DNS's)
    to point to our server provider:

    ns1.theplanet.com
    ns2.theplanet.com

    NOW... am I right to assume, that I must contact the server provider to
    marry foxgroup.co.uk with 69.56.194.186 in their DNS?
    If so, done that, waiting....

    Someone tell me if this all makes sense and will now allow me
    to enter http://www.carp365.com which in turn will lookup it's
    entry in foxgroup.co.uk local DNS which in turn will load the
    webpage (via theplanets DNS resolution).

    I've also heard something about reverse/back linking theplanets
    DNS to the foxgroup DNS... can someone shed some light please?

    Many thanks!
    Big kiss in it for you ;)

    Neil.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Kikky

    Kikky Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, i had to do the same task with mine.

    First thing you need to do is create the 2 host records @ the registrar for the 2 designated IP's and hosts for which will be serving as the NameServers( you can actually use 1 IP for 2 alias's.. obviously won't provide fault tolerance, but it's workable )

    so as an example:

    *created at registrar end*

    ns1.muppets.com > xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    ns2.muppets.com > xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    next thing to do is add the DNS zone for the primary domain, so muppets.com in this case. Then, make sure you add a HOST record for what you're going to name the actual hosting server AND for the 2 nameservers ( so ns1 /ns2 and a cpanel A record ). I called my actual server cpanel.mydomain.com ( which you can change in the server setup >> edit setup section ) from edit setup, you'll also add ns1.muppets.com as your primary NS, and ns2.muppets.com as your secondary NS ( because you're hosting the DNS for the domains on the cPanel box itself, i assume. )

    Once you've done that and the DNS has propogated, then you're good to go. Any additional domains that you then put on the box, you'd just point to ns1.muppets.com and ns2.muppets.com. DNS will then be handled by BIND on the cPanel server for each domain you host on there.

    Make sure you also run the Initial Name Server Setup once you've done all the faffing around.

    Hope that's helped you abit. If you get stuck, let us know.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. redfish

    redfish Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hmm, OK, I followed your steps as best I could however Im still having problems :(

    DNS report

    Take a look.. any advice? Im on the verge of using a third-party dns host like sitelutions...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Nothing's wrong according to DNS report. The only thing you're missing is an mx record.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. redfish

    redfish Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah I did some fiddling since I posted that, and all seems OK now :D

    Funny that it says theres no MX record when there blatantly is, but no matter, I have tested mail and I can send and recive mail fine so all is good :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, it's not.

    Both ns1 & ns2 use the same IP address which you may get away with, but is not recommended. And there definitely is a problem with your DNS setup as there is an A record, but no MX record. Could be the syntax is wrong -- leaving that period off at the end has stumped many people. That is the first place I would look anyway.

    Even though everything may seem to be working and appear to be just fine, changing your current DNS setup would be recommended.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Kikky

    Kikky Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I don't know where you peeps are getting info from on his domain, but I've been able to see the mx record on his DNS for over 3 days now :) Obviously using the same ip for both nameservers isn't recommended because it provides no fault tolerance if 1 ip becomes unavailable for whatever reason, however, if the IP's are part of the same subnet behind the same router, it defeats the object of having fault tolerant DNS anyway.. but of course, it is best practice in anycase :)

    The setup that Neil currently has would mean that either theplanet.com would have to create the DNS zones for each domain that he's hosting, or, he could have the records created for the NS's with them, and then set it up accordingly.

    > foxgroup.co.uk
    Server: cache1.ntli.net
    Address: 194.168.4.100

    Non-authoritative answer:
    foxgroup.co.uk MX preference = 5, mail exchanger = mail.foxgroup.co.uk

    mail.foxgroup.co.uk internet address = 69.56.194.186
    >

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page