SOLVED Initial DNSonly setup runs on every login?

kilohurtz1

Member
Sep 15, 2014
5
1
53
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello.. I setup a DNS only server to cluster with an existing whm/cpanel server.. it's in a vps on digital ocean.. centos 7.4.. just the basics.. i've setup many cpanel servers in the past.. never seen this..

the issue is, it's running the initial setup wizard every time i login... also.. when i go to set the self signed cert to the services.. it runs through like it supposed to.. no errors.. but when it refreshes.. it's not there.. it's almost acting like permissioning issue.. but literally, it's a brand new installation.. just installed.. setup.. clustered.. synced the dns zones and done.. haven't even put a firewall on yet.. any ideas?? it would be easy enough to zap it and rebuild it.. maybe use centos 6.x instead.. this is the 1st centos 7.x box i've deployed.. but i don't see how that's the issue.. i could be wrong..

any help would be appreciated.. i googled and didn't see anything about this issue..

TIA
Kilohurtz1
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,909
2,222
463
Hello,

I'm glad to see you were able to solve the issue. Do you mind sharing the solution?

Thanks!
 

kilohurtz1

Member
Sep 15, 2014
5
1
53
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello,

I'm glad to see you were able to solve the issue. Do you mind sharing the solution?

Thanks!
Sure,

It was all my fault.. as soon as the installation was finished, i logged into the WHM web interface and immediately bookmarked the address so i could easily log back in.. that was my mistake.. the URL it bookmarked was for the initial setup wizard that runs the 1st time you log in.. i never gave it a 2nd thought.. so then, everytime i used the bookmark to login, it was sending me back to the wizard even though it had been completed.. had i waited until the initial setup was complete then bookmarked it.. there wouldn't have been an issue.. i noticed it by chance when i was renaming the bookmark.. i saw the URL was way longer than usual.. then I saw it called the initial setup... Kind of embarrassing.. but i'm glad i found it fairly quick.. how often do we actually look at bookmark urls after they're made.. i typically only look at them if i need to edit them.. like this time..

Thanks for the help..
Kilohurtz
`
 
  • Like
Reactions: cPanelMichael