The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Initial Login Page Not Found

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pmcnamara, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. pmcnamara

    pmcnamara Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have installed CentOS5, WHM and Cpanel. As far as I can tell, everything went fine. When my Server boots up, it goes through what looks like a normal boot process, and lists the cpanel services that are starting, etc. However, when I try to load the cpanel or whm using the internal ip address, it does not work. I get a page not found error. This is what i'm using:

    http://192.168.1.102:2086
    http://192.168.1.102:2087
    http://192.168.1.102:2082

    I have tried all of those and nothing seems to work. Any suggestions? I'm not a linux person at all, but really want to get this up and running. I love cpanel and have been using it for years, but tired of paying hosting companies to host all our companies client websites.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. MaestriaNick

    MaestriaNick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    what is the the cpanel error log ?

    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log is the file
     
  3. pmcnamara

    pmcnamara Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how to retrieve log

    How would i show the log, or email the log to myself?

    This is what I tried and got from the prompt:

    #/usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    -bash: /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log: Permission denied
     
  4. pmcnamara

    pmcnamara Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No Luck

    Ok, when I do that and hit the enter key, the cursor goes to the next line and it's just sitting there blinking. Then, I tried again to go to:

    http://192.168.1.102:2086
    http://192.168.1.102:2087
    http://192.168.1.102:2082

    with no luck. I am now getting "the connection was reset" in firefox when I try to load any of those pages. Furthermore, I can't telnet to any of the addresses above. Thanks again for the help.
     
  5. MaestriaNick

    MaestriaNick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18

    in the ssh use try this

    tail -f /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log

    then try to access cpanel so that the error will be displayed in the shell for you
     
  6. pmcnamara

    pmcnamara Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is what I get

    Ok, when I do that and hit the enter key, the cursor goes to the next line and it's just sitting there blinking. Then, I tried again to go to:

    http://192.168.1.102:2086
    http://192.168.1.102:2087
    http://192.168.1.102:2082

    with no luck. I am now getting "the connection was reset" in firefox when I try to load any of those pages. Furthermore, I can't telnet to any of the addresses above. Thanks again for the help.
     
  7. MaestriaNick

    MaestriaNick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cpanel ports are enabled at your local firewall ?

    what is the output of

    tail /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log ?

    if it is a page not found error, the error will be logged in cpanel logs
     
  8. pmcnamara

    pmcnamara Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cpanel ports are enabled

    yes, cpanel ports are enabled on firewall. I use cpanel through my reseller hosting account all the time, so it's not that.

    the output from the shell was:

    INIT: version 2.86 reloading

    but the cpanel or whm will still not load in the browser
     
Loading...

Share This Page