The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Inserting line breaks when editing a locale

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by discountnetz, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. discountnetz

    discountnetz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello and good evening,
    sorry for my bad English I'm from Germany and use the Google Translator.

    I have to insert problems when editing a locale (German) line breaks in the text. All HTML markup are displayed and not executed. A <br> is displayed and does not generate a line break.

    I have found the words to text formatting with bracket notation, eg. [output, strong, example word] can be integrated. This then results in a fat-written example word.

    Unfortunately, I find no way of line breaks in the way of <br> insert using bracket notation. There must be a possibility to insert line breaks, it may not even be correct, the longer texts have to make do without a line break. These are then that is difficult to read.

    Is there a way line breaks when editing a locale insert and if so how do I do that?

    Thank you and kind regards
    Jan
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,814
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    What specific method are you using to edit the locale? For instance, are you using the "Locale Editor - Live Mode" option?

    Thank you.
     
  3. discountnetz

    discountnetz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    I use eg. the Live Editor. I wear in the text <br><br> and save the text. This also works the line breaks are executed. Only after a cPanel upgrade the line breaks are not performed on the page is displayed <br><br>

    I suspect that when a cPanel update something is changed which prevents the execution of html tags. I've also created a ticket where the support has told me something similar. If I etc eg formatting, links, insert then also everything remains preserved during an upgrade via Bracked notation. Only, how do I add line breaks via Bracked notation? It looks just from not nice when you have to read longer texts without line breaks.

    Best Regards
    Jan
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,814
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you let us know the ticket number that you opened? I recommend continuing with the support ticket and we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. discountnetz

    discountnetz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    the Tiket-ID is:
    Id 4379045

    Best Regards
    Jan
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,814
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here is a snippet from the ticket response after consultation with development:

    Thank you.
     
  7. discountnetz

    discountnetz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Siem a the are supported in the default locales no line breaks and instead I need to copy a locale to perform such a simple formatting? I suggest to think again before the concept of locales that is very important to cPanel worldwide to achieve a breakthrough;)

    I understand your post so that it is no way there to put line breaks in the locales. That's a shame.

    Best Regards
    Jan
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,814
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. discountnetz

    discountnetz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, I'm going to do. I am very satisfied with cPanel so I think the developers will make it possible to support languages ​​with formatting better. Plesk can do that, but not an alternative to cPanel is in many ways ;)

    Best Regards
    Jan
     
Loading...

Share This Page