Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Install a perl script

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by reubensant, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. reubensant

    reubensant Registered

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello, I have updated to the latest RELEASE of cpanel, but the install a perl script tool in WHM does not seem to work any more. When I click on the menu link i am presented with the search box but when i search for a module, a blank page is returned (with no results - not even a "No results found" message)

    I really appreciate if anyone can help
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,693
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    have you tried a forced update of cpanel

    /scripts/upcp --force


    you can install perl module from the comand line

    /scripts/perlinstaller Module name
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. reubensant

    reubensant Registered

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    yes i have tried a forced update 2 times but no sucess.

    thanks for that command. i managed to install some urgent perl modules that i needed but unfortunatley i still cannot get the WHM perl module installer to work. all this happened when cpanel updated by itself to its new version. I notoced that because the left menu slightly changed automatically. That was when the whm perl installer stopped working

    thanks in advnace for any further assistance
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,693
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I had the same thing hapen to me about 2 years ago I just used the command line which i do most of the time anyway it must have fixed it self you could tail your cpanel error log to see if it gives you any clue


    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jondolar

    jondolar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    The same thing is happening to me on one of my servers. Very strange that just a few people are having the problem. Here are my versions:

    Server with problem:
    WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.8.0-R65

    Server without the problem:
    WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.8.0-S59

    I'll use the command line for now. Thanks for the tip.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. jondolar

    jondolar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    FYI, I ran the command line to install the first perl module and then went back into WHM and it started working. I think one of the files that list the available modules must have been missing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    We've got this issue happening on all servers since upgrading to 10.8.1-R95. We've had to use the <perl -MCPAN -e 'install MODULE'> command to work around it. The whostmgr/perlmod process just hangs indefinitely until killed. We traced the perlmod process and it is just looping through a message that starts with "In case you could choose, which (...)".
     
  8. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I can confirm this is indeed happening exactly as you say and has been so for the last 3 or 4 days. Perhaps a Bugzilla report should be raised.

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-E84
    RedHat 9 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
    Perl 5.8.7
    CPAN 1.83

    :)
     
  9. destr0yr

    destr0yr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC.
    Looks like one's filed: http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=3722

    I see the same issue.
    10.8.1-CURRENT_94
    Code:
     PID USER     PRI  NI  SIZE  RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM   TIME COMMAND
     8184 root      18   0 39252  38M  1420 R    32.1  1.9  11:46 perlmod
    10843 root      18   0 39252  38M  1420 R    32.1  1.9   0:35 perlmod
    
     
  10. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Apparently the above bug is not related to the problem that we are now experiencing with the WHM Install A Perl Mod.

    This refuses to search, returns a blank page while attempting to search and starts a looping with perlmod -q and perlmod in 2 seperate processess only, which then have to be killed before the cpu catches fire.

    You can, of course, use shell to install perl modules but I hate to see WHM walking with a limp.

    :)
     
    #10 Izzee, Jan 10, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2006
  11. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Running /scripts/upcp --force like dalem suggested fixed the problem here. Using the Current build.

     
  12. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I first noticed this issue over 5 days ago on Edge 84. Being on Edge, today is E105, I did the rsync upcp --force every day looking for the fix, even before this thread was re-opened by jsteel. After todays upcp --force I checked again and low and behold it had been found by cPanel and the problem was solved.
     
  13. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Aha, so it was a cpanel issue. I only noticed it on one server, so I thought it must be a fluke.
     
  14. InternetPEI

    InternetPEI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I upgraded to E111 after getting sick of seeing high loads after doing the perl installer.. loads were actually reaching 43.xx!!!! Perlmod is still showing as a process and keeping it at 1.xx any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  15. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Don't really understand your question. If you have a looping process kill it. Then in future if you want to install perl modules it's always best to do it from shell.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. InternetPEI

    InternetPEI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi Jonathan,

    I did kill it, but will it cause any problems during any cpanel upgrades or anything?

    I installed the perl through the layer1 install.

    Thanks Jason
     
  17. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    So long as you're on the latest of any of the version trees of cPanel then the problem with the cpan modules should be gone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. taotoon

    taotoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I faced the same problem after upgrade to Centos 4.4.

    Then I run commands:

    /scripts/perlinstaller Module::Build
    /scripts/perlinstaller CPAN

    and they solved! If they don't work, try to manual install them.

    http://search.cpan.org/~kwilliams/Module-Build-0.2805/
    http://search.cpan.org/~andk/CPAN-1.87/
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice