The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Install a RPM list is empty

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Galvanize, Jul 29, 2005.

  1. Galvanize

    Galvanize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.
    Yesterday, my RPM list randomly became empty. Nothing was done/change on the server apart from cPanel logins and visits to hosted web sites.

    I wasn't too worried at the time, but now I've realised how many other problems it causes.

    I've tried everything I can find from other threads and forums but nothing helps..

    ---
    When I click "Rebuild RPM Database" it says 'Complete!' but nothing changes.

    rpm --initdb returns:
    rpmdb: illegal flag specified to DB->open
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Invalid argument (22)

    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5 appears to do nothing.

    rpm --rebuilddb returns the same error as --initdb

    I've tried other things too (can't remember them all - been at it all day) but no luck :(


    If anyone can help or advise me on anything to do with it, I would really appreciate it!

    OS: Trustix Linux 2.2
    WHM: 10.1.0
    cPanel: 10.2.0-R82
    RPM: version 4.0.5
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Do a search for rpm empty it's been covered many times before.
     
  3. Galvanize

    Galvanize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for the reply.

    Okay. I've searched for 'rpm empty' and gone through all the threads again, tried everything again, still no change..
     
    #3 Galvanize, Jul 29, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2005
  4. ZaireWeb

    ZaireWeb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you are running RedHat... type

    up2date

    as root... it should give you some errors. These issues i've had before moving to plesk with rpms & cpanel, as that I upgraded perl & python, which essentially broke the rpm python module.

    - Eric
     
  5. Galvanize

    Galvanize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm running Trustix (version 2.2) with cPanel..
     
Loading...

Share This Page