Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Install a RPM list is empty

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Galvanize, Jul 29, 2005.

  1. Galvanize

    Galvanize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello.
    Yesterday, my RPM list randomly became empty. Nothing was done/change on the server apart from cPanel logins and visits to hosted web sites.

    I wasn't too worried at the time, but now I've realised how many other problems it causes.

    I've tried everything I can find from other threads and forums but nothing helps..

    ---
    When I click "Rebuild RPM Database" it says 'Complete!' but nothing changes.

    rpm --initdb returns:
    rpmdb: illegal flag specified to DB->open
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Invalid argument (22)

    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5 appears to do nothing.

    rpm --rebuilddb returns the same error as --initdb

    I've tried other things too (can't remember them all - been at it all day) but no luck :(


    If anyone can help or advise me on anything to do with it, I would really appreciate it!

    OS: Trustix Linux 2.2
    WHM: 10.1.0
    cPanel: 10.2.0-R82
    RPM: version 4.0.5
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Do a search for rpm empty it's been covered many times before.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Galvanize

    Galvanize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thank you for the reply.

    Okay. I've searched for 'rpm empty' and gone through all the threads again, tried everything again, still no change..
     
    #3 Galvanize, Jul 29, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2005
  4. ZaireWeb

    ZaireWeb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    If you are running RedHat... type

    up2date

    as root... it should give you some errors. These issues i've had before moving to plesk with rpms & cpanel, as that I upgraded perl & python, which essentially broke the rpm python module.

    - Eric
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Galvanize

    Galvanize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'm running Trustix (version 2.2) with cPanel..
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice