The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Install cpaddon from cli script

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by ckoehler, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. ckoehler

    ckoehler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Is it possible to install a cpaddon by running a script from the command line?

    Thanks!

    Christoph
     
  2. ckoehler

    ckoehler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone know? It seems like since most of cPanel stuff is perl scripts, at some point cPanel will call a perl script to install the cPAddon.

    Thanks!
     
  3. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yes, it is possible to installl cpaddons through command line. You just need to download the cpaddon which you want to install and install it.
     
  4. ckoehler

    ckoehler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Um. I apologize for asking the obvious, but HOW do I do that exactly?
     
  5. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Below are the general steps to install the third party components:

    1. Download the component from the relevant source using the wget command on your server.
    2. Unzip/untar the downloaded file.
    3. Install the component on your server by following the standard steps.

    If you still face any issue while installing the component then kindly provide us the component name which you would like to install so that we can provide you the exact steps to install the component.
     
  6. ckoehler

    ckoehler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah I see what you mean. Of course I can do that. But cPanel automatically creates a db and user for it, injects the info into some of the files, copies the files, and imports the database.
    I can do that manually, but was wondering if cPanel has one script to do all they are doing when a user manually installs a cPAddon.

    We created this addon and can install it all by scripting the parts manually, but that defeats the purpose of having cPanel do it.
     
    #6 ckoehler, Aug 12, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2009
  7. ckoehler

    ckoehler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So I take it it's not possible? Any cPanel staff who can comment on this?
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    At this time, this is not possible. In a release of 11.25 (not sure if it will be 11.25.0 or a later release), you will be able to install cPAddons using our APIs. At that time, it would become practical to build a shell script that calls our APIs to do this for you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page