The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

install gitlab with a standard cpanel user

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AGNXNetworks, May 27, 2015.

  1. AGNXNetworks

    AGNXNetworks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a user that's hosting with me and he only has a standard cpanel user account and I don't want to give him root access to be able to install gitlab

    how do I install it for him without breaking my security or cpanel/whm?
     
  2. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It doesn't look like from a quick Google search that there is an easy way to allow this. Other than the fact that it requires a root install which obviously means it has dependencies that may not be good for cPanel, I managed to find one dependency in particular that GitLab will not appreciate.

    See the quote I found from here:

    Sorry for the bad news and hope this helps.
     
  3. AGNXNetworks

    AGNXNetworks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    how do you get git working so the cpanel user can use it without fullpaths?
     
  4. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,734
    Likes Received:
    661
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, as mentioned in the referenced post, it's available at:

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/git

    Thank you.
     
  6. AGNXNetworks

    AGNXNetworks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How do you setup frotnends and all that?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,734
    Likes Received:
    661
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. AGNXNetworks

    AGNXNetworks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That would depend on what the client wants to do for frontends/managers/etc... I will have to ask them.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page