Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

install gitlab with a standard cpanel user

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AGNXNetworks, May 27, 2015.

  1. AGNXNetworks

    AGNXNetworks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a user that's hosting with me and he only has a standard cpanel user account and I don't want to give him root access to be able to install gitlab

    how do I install it for him without breaking my security or cpanel/whm?
     
  2. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It doesn't look like from a quick Google search that there is an easy way to allow this. Other than the fact that it requires a root install which obviously means it has dependencies that may not be good for cPanel, I managed to find one dependency in particular that GitLab will not appreciate.

    See the quote I found from here:

    Sorry for the bad news and hope this helps.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AGNXNetworks

    AGNXNetworks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    how do you get git working so the cpanel user can use it without fullpaths?
     
  4. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,167
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Yes, as mentioned in the referenced post, it's available at:

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/git

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. AGNXNetworks

    AGNXNetworks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How do you setup frotnends and all that?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,167
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. AGNXNetworks

    AGNXNetworks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That would depend on what the client wants to do for frontends/managers/etc... I will have to ask them.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice