The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Install Issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nathum, Aug 12, 2014.

  1. Nathum

    Nathum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I am running XenServer 6.2 Build 70446c

    I have created a VM for cPanel and run the install iso cPanel-CentOS-6.4-x86_64.iso

    The install stops at mounting /tmp as tmpfs... done

    Screenshot attached...

    1407896775.jpg

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you confirm if the installation stopped at that point and never proceeded? Or, has it since completed successfully? Do you experience the same problem when configuring the OS separately and then installing cPanel?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Nathum

    Nathum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    I was able to get around the error, by choosing in XenServer a different OS template and (Burning to CD does not work at 8X) I did a over the network install and also tried a local iso install.

    However I have another issue and been trying to resolve it all day yesterday.

    I downloaded cPanel-CentOS-6.4-x86_64_2.iso

    When I run the install, there seems to be no network during the setup. This install is a Xen VM 6.2 with all patches applied.

    When asked to reboot arrive back at login prompt.
    When I login I am not given any cPanel message.

    ls gives me
    anaconda-ks.cfg install.log install.log.syslog

    ifconfig gives me
    Local Loopback

    Compared to a VMWare Install I did to test.
    I Have a more GUI install screen, when login to root, I get a message that cPanel is install in the background, I have network connection and I have another Log file.

    Yea so I am a little stumped.

    Thanks Nathum
     
  4. Nathum

    Nathum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    UPDATE

    I have worked out that the install failed in the ks.cfg file between the lines...

    %post
    yum -y update

    and

    mkdir /home/cpinst


    Also the install failed in the file /home/cpinst/CDinstaller.sh

    Line
    if ! nc -z httpupdate.cpanel.net 80 -w 10 > /dev/null; then

    I was able to ping the location so this line should not have returned null

    I removed the exit which continued the install.

    After that Success, I am operational.

    Regarding the network issue, I added VNC to Advanced OS boot parameters when creating a new VM, which read like this.

    graphical utf8 vnc

    I could see it picked up the network eth0 when booting.


    So there you have it. Hope this helps someone else.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page