The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

install jsp

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pauluf, Nov 15, 2002.

  1. pauluf

    pauluf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dear all, I have installed jsp-install-4.0.3-tar.gz from layer
    the installation is ok, but I can't run any .jsp file.
    It can load .jsp, but doesn't run the code insides.
    If that I need to do anyother setting?
     
  2. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Did you install servlet support for the domain using the link in WHM?
     
  3. pauluf

    pauluf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes, I have enable the servlet function for domain, I have also check the server.xml, the domain name is included in it.
    for example, I have a test.jsp file, I can load in the browser.
    But i just show the html code, the done nothing to jsp code.
    what can I do?
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Also check httpd.conf for the following for each domain having servlets.

    &IfModule mod_jk.c&
    JkMount /*.jsp ajp13
    JkMount /servlet/* ajp13
    JkMount /servlets/* ajp13
    &/IfModule&
     
  5. pauluf

    pauluf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    &IfModule mod_jk.c&
    JkMount /*.jsp ajp13
    JkMount /servlet/* ajp13
    JkMount /servlets/* ajp13
    &/IfModule&

    These are all included in the vistualhost part of the domain, but one thing that is, I found that there is no &AddModule mod_jk.c& in httpd.conf. Is it the problem?

    If it is related, how can I solve it?
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    These lines need to be in there.

    AddModule mod_jk.c

    Include &/usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-4.0.3-src/build/conf/auto/mod_jk.conf&
     
  7. pauluf

    pauluf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have added these lines into httpd.conf
    but when I restart the httpd service, it said can't find &mod_jk.c&
    I have also checked the directory of apahce and jakarta, I can't find any file of &mod_jk.c&

    Where can I get it?
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It should be here
    /usr/local/apache/libexec/mod_jk.c

    The original is here /usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-connectors-4.0.2-01-src/jk/native/ under the appropriate apache directory.

    Oops, also forgot this line.

    LoadModule jk_module libexec/mod_jk.so
     
  9. pauluf

    pauluf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have found mod_jk.c, and place it into /usr/local/apache/libexec, but I can't locate mod_jk.so

    But when I restart httpd service, it said &configuration broken, ignoring restart&

    my httpd.conf is contain the following lines:

    AddModule mod_jk.c

    Include &/usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-4.0.3-src/build/conf/auto/mod_jk.conf&

    I try to remove the above lines in httpd.conf, it can restart the service.
     
  10. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    my situation is almost the same. in my httpd.conf, mod_jk is able to be loaded just fine, but jsp still doesn't work. wheneven I try to run a jsp script, it returns a internal server error. please help. btw i am using 4.1.12.
     
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    blueshift;

    With 4.1.12 I cannot be much help as I know no-one including myself to get that version to work.

    Unless someone else knows something I don't.

    I myself have stuck with 4.0.3 and other installs I have done for myself and other hosting companies I have done 4.0.3 as well and found it works just great.
     
  12. pauluf

    pauluf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where can I locate mod_jk.so?
    I can't find this file
    Thanks for your help!
     
  13. pauluf

    pauluf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks!

    Thanks for jsteel and dgbaker, I have compiled the file my own to build mod_jk.so, and restart the service, it is work find now!

    Really thanks to all of your help!
     
  14. mike47

    mike47 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you install servlet support for the domain using the lin

    I am also having Tomcat problems and for the life of me I see NO link in WHM to support Tomcat
     
  15. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Mike - In WHM look for Plugins - Install Servlets

    It should just after Account Functions section.
     
  16. mike47

    mike47 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mike - In WHM look for Plugins - Install Servlets

    Well that is a problem I have no such section in my WHM???
     
  17. Ajeesh

    Ajeesh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Downgrade tomcat to ver 3.2.2
     
  18. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No need to downgrade, tomcat 4.0.3 works quite well.
     
  19. semaj

    semaj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey dgbaker ,
    I too have the broken version & need to get 4.0.3, WOuld you be willing to install & configure.
    email me james@urlf.com
     
  20. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Now that I've had some Clients ask about JSP, I too, am looking to see if it is worth the install. I cannot find any "plugin" section in WHM though? Even checked through all the listings in "RPM Package Installer", but nothing there for JSP or Tomcat.

    Someone mentioned they "recomplied their own" -- does this mean we're looking at a recompile of Apache to do an install?

    Would also like to know if v4.0.3 is still available -- since it sounds like anything else doesn't work well with WHM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page