Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Install MySQL 5.6 instead of MariaDB

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by dpsingh, Apr 11, 2019.

Tags:
  1. dpsingh

    dpsingh Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OS : Centos 7.6 KVM
    WHM : v78.0.20

    I am running magento 1.9.x & it supports only MySQL 5.6 (Oracle or Percona) . The problem is cpanel by default installs the MariaDB so can you tell me how i can install the MySQL 5.6 & remove the MariaDB .

    Please tell me the step by step command i am not so expert in linux . I am just newbie .
     
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I've never seen cPanel install MariaDB by default. These days it installs MySQL 5.7 if nothing is customized on the install. Perhaps your host did this for you. I know when we deploy new servers we normally upgrade mysql to MariaDB unless told specifically not to.

    We have a number of clients running Magento on MariaDB though. You may want to give it a go. Worst case you might have to disbable Strict Mode if you are running 10.2 or higher.

    Downgrading MySQL is not going to be an option for you I'm afraid, unless you want to dump all your databases, uninstall mysql, delete the data folder and the force cPanel to roll back the version. Its messy, but possible.

    I'd advise trying to get MariaDB working though.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dpsingh

    dpsingh Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Add this to the mysqld section of the /etc/my.cnf

    sql_mode=NO_ENGINE_SUBSTITUTION
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dpsingh

    dpsingh Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you brother for so much helping nature .

    Can you tell me where should i have to write that line . I have these things in my config file

    [mysqld]
    log-error=/var/lib/mysql/{servername}.err
    performance-schema=0
    default-storage-engine=MyISAM
    innodb_file_per_table=1
    max_allowed_packet=268435456
    open_files_limit=10000
    query_cache_type=1
    query_cache_limit=1M
    query_cache_min_res_unit=2k
    query_cache_size=128M
    innodb_buffer_pool_size=2G
    tmp_table_size=64M
    max_heap_table_size=64M



    where should i have to put sql_mode=NO_ENGINE_SUBSTITUTION
     
  6. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Anywhere in that region is fine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    As long as it's under that first line that is.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    dpsingh likes this.
  8. dpsingh

    dpsingh Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you bro you are saviour .

    Thanks a lot . You saved my lots of time .

    One again thank you .
     
  9. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Glad it worked out!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,548
    Likes Received:
    2,182
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I've marked this thread as solved. You can read more about the strict mode changes in MySQL version 5.7 on the thread below:

    MySQL 5.5 to 5.7

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice