Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Install MySQL 5.6?

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by Michael Legg, Oct 9, 2017.

  1. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I've set up a remote MySQL database, but cPanel can't connect to it because MySQL 5.7 was installed by default and according to the error message I get from the "Manage MySQL profiles" page cpanel doesn't support version 5.7.

    So I uninstalled 5.7. but I can't find a way to install 5.6.

    I downloaded the 5.6 RPM but when when I try to use yum to install it via
    #sudo yum localinstall MySQL-server-5.6.36-1.e17.x86_64.rpm

    It says "Cannot open: MySQL-server-5.6.36-1.e17.x86_64.rpm. Skipping.
    Nothing to do"

    But when I don't specify a version using yum, it installs 5.7

    Does anyone know how to install MySQL 5.6?
     
  2. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I found the answer

    first run

    shell> sudo yum-config-manager --disable mysql57-community
    shell> sudo yum-config-manager --enable mysql56-community

    then run

    shell> sudo yum install mysql-community-server
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I'm happy to see you were able to solve the issue. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Imago

    Imago Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Thanks for the workaround. Were any bases affected in the process? I mean the one used by cPanel.

    cc @cPanelMichael
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Imago,

    I understood the original poster to be running a remote MySQL server that doesn't use cPanel & WHM.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice