The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Install mysqli without EasyApache

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jazbek, Jun 23, 2016.

  1. jazbek

    jazbek Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I am running a site that needs mysqli installed for php 5.4. I have looked up how to install mysqli on WHM and every response gives instructions using EasyApache. However, we are not using EasyApache.

    What is the best way to install mysqli without using EasyApache? I can find general instructions for installing mysqli, but am not sure how configuration files get rebuilt/overwritten by WHM, so I don't want to install it and then lose it on the next restart or cpanel upgrade.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you provide additional information about what you are using in-place of EasyApache?

    Thank you.
     
  3. jazbek

    jazbek Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    I'm not sure how to answer -- all I know is that if I go to WHM > System Health > Show Current Running Processes, /scripts/easyapache is not listed.

    If I navigate to WHM > Software > EasyApache 3, I see the following message at the top of the page:

    Before using EasyApache please be sure to read over the documentation.
    To avoid losing custom modifications to your apache configuration, you will need to move your custom modications to the include files that the new configuration system uses. For more specific information on includes please visit this page.​

    So, to me it seems like it's not in use? (I may be misinterpreting this information)

    I don't know that I'm using anything in place of it, I've been changing php configuration settings via WHM > Service Configuration > Configure PHP and suExec, and PHP Configuration Editor.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That means you are using easyapache 3
     
  5. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yeah, you're using EA , which is pretty much the default here.
    You can configure MySQLi inside of that.
    Alternatively, especially if you're running a shared server, you might want to look into cloudlinux and PHP selector. Much easier to work with.
     
  6. jazbek

    jazbek Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So you were correct! That was not apparent to me. :)

    I got mysqli installed via Easy Apache 3, thanks all for the replies.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page