Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

install Redis caching engine on Cpanel server with underlying CentOS6.7 OS

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by Mangoose, Dec 18, 2015.

  1. Mangoose

    Mangoose Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My question is actually threefold

    1. is there smooth way to install Redis on a CentOS 6.7 server with Cpanel installed and what is it?

    2. or is it better to do it just from within terminal access and via the command line as outlined in this tutorial
    idroot.net/tutorials/how-to-install-redis-on-centos-6/

    3. where do you go for if you need help with installing Redis on your server ?

    Regards

    Anthony
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 Mangoose, Dec 18, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Mangoose likes this.
  3. Mangoose

    Mangoose Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well... thanks for putting me on the right track :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. kygeek

    kygeek Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    That tutorial will get you started but it leaves out a couple steps needed.
    its trivial, but after you put the redis startup script in /etc/init.d/
    you must make it executable

    chmod +x /etc/init.d/redis

    next thing is not a have to, but you will want to put the config params for redis in a file called
    /etc/redis/local.conf
    that being said for it to work properly you must also put a

    include /etc/redis/local.conf
    in the file /etc/redis/redis.conf

    also as a quick note. pecl install redis didnt work for me
    i went to here
    grabbed the source and ran phpize && ./configure && make install
    (more details will be in tutorial im writing) ill post a link here if its ok with mods. when its done.

    If you are using ea4 and multi-php then thats a whole other issue.

    hope that helps some if you ran into trouble.
     
    #4 kygeek, Dec 26, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2015
  5. Mangoose

    Mangoose Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi kygeek


    I am not sure how I would accomplish this last one

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Bashed

    Bashed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Curious, what config parameters should be in that local file?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice