The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Install Software Under Account on WHM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jerdoggmckoy, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. jerdoggmckoy

    jerdoggmckoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St Paul, MN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there any way for me to install some sort of desktop-like GUI software that would allow me to install software programs like Quickbooks or something like that so I could make it network accessible?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You are welcome to install third-party applications, but could you clarify how it would be integrated into cPanel/WHM? I'm not familiar with Quickbooks itself, but there are several applications that utilize desktop clients (e.g. FTP clients, MySQL administration tools) to communicate with servers.

    Thank you.
     
  3. jerdoggmckoy

    jerdoggmckoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St Paul, MN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was thinking of something more along the lines of allowing me to install desktop software, right there under one specific user account. Like either using an Ubuntu GUI or even another Windows OS install, and set it up on the server for that one account. Does this seem possible?
     
  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What I think you are asking for, is not possible, and I am not even sure why you would want it. Linux does not run Windows software unless you install an emulator like wine, and an emulator like that really should not be installed on a server that hosts Web sites for customers. It is going to use resources that could be used for hosting sites, making the sites slower.

    cPanel effectively is its own GUI, so I am not exactly sure what you hope to accomplish. The GUI on Ubuntu is called X Window, and it should not be installed on a server, and in fact we do not support cPanel on servers that have it installed. cPanel gives you a Web-accessible GUI interface, so X Windows is effectively redundant, and that is part of why we do not support it, in addition to the fact that it uses server resources that can be better used to host sites.

    Desktop applications should be run on a desktop running the operating system they were developed for, and server services should be run on a server.
     
  5. jerdoggmckoy

    jerdoggmckoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St Paul, MN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the info. What I was hoping to accomplish, was to have the primary Quickbooks database centralized on my server so I could access it from places other than my home office.
     
Loading...

Share This Page