The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Install SSL Bundle CA without httpd.conf?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by emdeex, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. emdeex

    emdeex Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm a cpanel reseller, with access to WHM and a jailshell SSH account.

    I installed a Comodo SSL certificate for one of my client domains. That part seems to work.

    Browsers give the error "you don't trust this certificate".

    Most threads say to fix this, I need to modify httpd.conf, to add the Comodo CA bundle.

    Can I do this without the server super-admin?

    Thanks,
    emdeex
     
  2. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    no , you will need root access for that !
     
  3. emdeex

    emdeex Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The webhost and Comodo say I dont need root.

    I just need to post the CA bundle into the CA bundle field in WHM.

    I'm doing that, and it says "updating certificate only"...

    but no good result.

    Comodo are asking, "are their any other certificates installed on that server?", well how would I know, I assume so, since its a webhosting company, but what difference does it make?
     
  4. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can only install one SSL cert per ip... do you have a dedicated ip?

    If there's already an ssl cert on that ip usually it'll load the first cert in the list... check your certificate in your browser and see if it's actually yours.
     
  5. projectandrew

    projectandrew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  6. emdeex

    emdeex Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Its working - and how.

    Yes, it is on its own IP address.

    OK, so I spent hours with Comodo online support, and they couldnt get it to work. They finally suggested that I get the webhost to edit the httpd.conf files.

    The webhost didnt want to do that, cause they said it should work via WHM.

    So I decided I'd try one last thing.

    I asked the webhost to delete the certificate from that IP. They did that.

    I waited a few hours, then went and reinstalled the certificate, the key, and the certificate bundle from Comodo via WHM.

    I used the certificate (www_xxxx_com.crt) and the bundle (ComodoSecurityServicesCA.crt) as supplied on the zipfile in the email from Comodo.

    "Do It"

    And its working. No more asking about "you dont trust this certificate" etc. Just straight through to the HTTPS page.

    So what happened? No idea, a flaw with Cpanel is the only thing I can see. As I reinstalled the certs many times to no avail. Only when the webhost deleted the cert, and then I reinstalled did it start to work. WHM 9.9.9 cPanel 9.9.9-R14 RedHat 9 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0.
     
Loading...

Share This Page