The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installation Issue with FC3

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by byon, Jun 30, 2005.

  1. byon

    byon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    Just installed minimal-running FC3 without GCC. Thereafter downloaded "latest" according to the installation manual instructions.


    this is my hdd partition, i dont do partitions in linux.

    all of them are /ext3
    001 GB / (/dev/hda7)
    100 MB /boot
    001 GB /tmp
    010 GB /usr
    007 GB /var
    001 GB swap
    020 GB /home

    wondering whether did i do it correctly? please correct me if i didn't.
    after which, i followed the sh latest installation, then left it there for about 6 hours. Then whole screen floods with "........" (8dots in total). keeps going on for the next 4hours. Therefore i decided to format. before i proceed further, are there any steps i missed out? (This time i added development tools during installation).

    pardon me for my broken english here.
    Thanks John
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You should check what it's doing by looking in the cpanel* log files in /var/log/
     
  3. byon

    byon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Are my partitioning correct?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    If I were you, I'd install gcc compilers. In addition, make sure you don't have apache 2.x installed on your server.
     
  6. byon

    byon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks!
    I'm running through the installation again.
     
  7. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Best to run the following before installing cPanel.

    yum remove httpd* php* mysql* exim*

    Regards,
    Alan
     
Loading...

Share This Page