The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installation Issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mgballew, Aug 19, 2015.

1. mgballew

mgballew Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, my name is Matthew!

I have been using cPanel and WHM for a while now, and I love it. But yesterday I purchased my first VPS that did not come with cPanel installed. I purchased a licence, and went to work. I would like to apologize in advance for not knowing/making a rookie mistake. I am very new to this whole install business.

Before I begin to list my issues I am having, first a little backstory ;)

1. I registered matthewb.domain at name.com

2. I signed up for cloudflare! They took over my DNS, and all is good

3. I purchased a VPS at VPSDime. I set the hostname as s1.matthewb.domain

4. I pointed my root domain matthewb.domain at my servers IP

4. I registered two nameservers at name.com, and pointed them both to my server IP I received from VPSDime

Now I am at the install process. I SSH into the server, and begin the install. A couple of things happen. First, it says I have a bad domain, so I change the domain to matthewb.domain and continue the install. It continues without a hitch, and after the install is complete, I navigate to matthewb.domain:2087

And so my real story begins......

I login to WHM using my root username and password, and begin the setup.

After clicking on the "I accept/Continue" button in the first step of the install, I am logged out.

I log back in, and proceed to step two, where I enter my contact info, set the hostname as s1.matthewb.domain, and set BOTH resolvers to my servers IP.

I hit Continue

Get logged out again -__-