Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

installation of script on a production enviroment

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by staberas, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. staberas

    staberas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I need to install a Laravel web application on my VPS server along with my wordpress sites i have. Problem is i cant find any good installation guide that doesnt involve deleting my public_html file (rm -rf /public_html). I currently want to make the installation as much less production disruptive as possible can someone help me?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,323
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you let us know which installation instructions you are following? Does the installation fail if you install it in a subdirectory under the public_html directory?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. staberas

    staberas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I havent installed it yet, i was just looking around how i can add the laravel framework and i stumble over these articles:
    joshmountain.com/blog/installing-laravel-and-composer-on-a-cpanel-server/
    forums.glowhost.com/knowledge-base/how-install-laravel-composer-cpanel-server-4736.html

    As u can see the last step " # rm -rf public_html " which will obviously delete my current sites and setup
     
    #3 staberas, Aug 11, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2015
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,323
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should be able to skip that step and simply update the document root when creating a subdomain or addon domain that points to this script.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    staberas likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice