The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

installation of script on a production enviroment

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by staberas, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. staberas

    staberas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I need to install a Laravel web application on my VPS server along with my wordpress sites i have. Problem is i cant find any good installation guide that doesnt involve deleting my public_html file (rm -rf /public_html). I currently want to make the installation as much less production disruptive as possible can someone help me?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you let us know which installation instructions you are following? Does the installation fail if you install it in a subdirectory under the public_html directory?

    Thank you.
     
  3. staberas

    staberas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I havent installed it yet, i was just looking around how i can add the laravel framework and i stumble over these articles:
    joshmountain.com/blog/installing-laravel-and-composer-on-a-cpanel-server/
    forums.glowhost.com/knowledge-base/how-install-laravel-composer-cpanel-server-4736.html

    As u can see the last step " # rm -rf public_html " which will obviously delete my current sites and setup
     
    #3 staberas, Aug 11, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2015
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should be able to skip that step and simply update the document root when creating a subdomain or addon domain that points to this script.

    Thank you.
     
    staberas likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page