Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Installation on RHEL6: RHN error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWZ, May 27, 2013.

  1. DWZ

    DWZ Registered

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Hi there,

    I'm attempting to install cPanel on a RHEL6 box we have here; however when attempting to start the installation cPanel throws an error and the installation terminates:
    Code:
    [root@server home]# sh latest
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing Cpanel & WHM Installer..............
            ____                  _
        ___|  _ \ __ _ _ __   ___| |
       / __| |_) / _` | '_ \ / _ \ |
      | (__|  __/ (_| | | | |  __/ |
       \___|_|   \__,_|_| |_|\___|_|
    
      Installer Version v00029 r6849459174e3809f72de2bef81427a8a45399d66
    
    Beginning main installation.
    2013-05-28 09:36:49  557 ( INFO): cPanel install started at: Tue May 28 09:36:49 2013!
    2013-05-28 09:36:49  558 ( INFO): This install will take 20-50 minutes depending on your hardware.
    2013-05-28 09:36:49  559 ( INFO): Now is the time to go get another cup of coffee/jolt.
    2013-05-28 09:36:49  560 ( INFO): The install will log to /var/log/cpanel-install.log.
    2013-05-28 09:36:49  561 ( INFO):
    2013-05-28 09:36:49  562 ( INFO): Beginning Installation v3
    2013-05-28 09:36:49  462 ( INFO): redhat-server 6 (Linux) detected!
    2013-05-28 09:36:49  490 ( INFO): Validating that 'server.example.com' is a FQDN
    2013-05-28 09:36:49 1562 ( INFO): Checking Red Hat registration for updates
    2013-05-28 09:36:51 1576 (ERROR): You must register with the Red Hat Network
    2013-05-28 09:36:51 1577 (ERROR): when using Red Hat Enterprise Linux before you can install cPanel.
    2013-05-28 09:36:51 1578 (ERROR): Please run the following to register your server: /usr/sbin/rhn_register
    2013-05-28 09:36:51 1579 (FATAL): Installer Terminating....
    Removing /root/installer.lock
    [root@server home]#
    My problem, however, is that as far as I can tell, the server already is registered with RHN. If I follow cPanel's instructions and run /usr/sbin/rhn_register, I get a warning that the server is already registered.

    If I run rhn_check I get a 0 exit code (suggesting RHN is configured correctly and working):
    Code:
    [root@server ~]# rhn_check -v
    [root@server ~]# echo $?
    0
    Has anyone got any idea what might be wrong?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    There is an additional step to take when installing cPanel on RHEL. Before you install cPanel & WHM on a Red Hat Enterprise Linux v.6 server, you must subscribe the server to the Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Server - Optional (RPMs) channel. To subscribe to the RHEL Server - Optional (RPMs) channel, run the following command:

    Code:
    # subscription-manager repos --enable rhel-6-server-optional-rpms
    This is documented at:

    cPanel Installation - Configuring OS

    If the issue persists after following this step, please provide us with the output of the following command:

    Code:
    # yum check-update
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DWZ

    DWZ Registered

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Just thought I'd post an update in case anyone has the same problem and stumbles across this thread: The problem ended up being that we had the RPMs for subscription-manager installed; but it wasn't configured. This is because we were in fact using Satellite. So, as far as I can tell, cPanel noted the subscription-manager RPM was installed, and made an assumption we weren't using Satellite, which wasn't the case.

    So, the fix was simply just to 'yum remove subscription-manager'
     
  4. jwhysleep

    jwhysleep Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice