The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installation Questions & Issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by newboy2010, Aug 18, 2010.

1. newboy2010

newboy2010 Registered

I am new to CPanel and i trying to setup cpanel server.

The issue i am facing is that i have setup the server behind NAT (or on private network). I do have 3 additional Public IP addresses from my ISP.

I have the following questions:

1. Will the server work properly behind NAT? I am happy to open the needed ports.

2. Which installation will run better, to keep the server behind NAT or to run the server with a public IP and the NAT disabled?

3. Can we use the public IP addresses only for the name servers? or does the server has to have a public IP as well?

4. If i decide to run the server on a public IP, does that mean that i'll need 3 public IP addresses to run the server? 1 for server and 2 for name servers?

I tried to do a lot of research but could not find any guide for cpanel installation which covers all these issues.

#1 newboy2010, Aug 18, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2010
  2. cPanelJared

cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel is not NAT-aware

cPanel is currently not developed with NAT in mind. While it is possible to run it successfully in a NAT environment, please be aware that we do not support NAT configurations, and because cPanel is not intended to work with NAT, it will be significantly more complicated than running it on a server with public IP addresses.