The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installation Support Please (Eight Scrolling Dots)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jayshah, Apr 16, 2007.

  1. jayshah

    jayshah Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All,

    Thanks to anyone who takes some timeout to help me.

    I'm having a problem just installing cPanel, I seem to be getting stuck (around an hour into installation), with the screen just scrolling eight dots.

    Screenshot:
    http://i12.tinypic.com/313m6c0.jpg (I've only blurred out the IP because the server has no security and I'm just paranoid)

    I've got 1 GB Ram, and CentOS 4.2, if there's anything else you need, please ask.

    Thanks for your time,

    Jay
     
  2. formadmirer

    formadmirer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not Unusual...

    The scrolling dots just let you know that something is happening and the system hasn't locked up. Depending upon your hardware, connection speed, time of day, server load, etc. the dots could be there for quite a while - I've seen an install take 3 hours before! :eek:
    Just be patient and let the installer run it's course.
     
  3. logikstudios

    logikstudios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The longest i have ever seen it install was 5 hours.
     
  4. summat

    summat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am currently getting the same issue while trying to install the DNSONLY version of cpanel with Centos 4.4 AND FC5 on a spare box to run as a secondary DNS. I left one run going overnight (over 14 hours it ran) and it never finished, there was no activity (net, or hard drive) during the time after it hangs.

    On closer inspection, I notice the same command hangs every time I get the installer stopping:

    22126 pts/2 S+ 0:00 /usr/bin/wget -O /home/.cpan/sources/authors/id/P/PM/PMQS/Compress-Zlib [-] 1.42 [.] tar.tmp18034 http://hurricane.hinasu.net/CPAN/authors/id/P/PM/PMQS/Compress-Zlib [-] 1.42 [.] tar.gz

    I have checked the CPAN repository and the file its after is on there. This has happened on two clean installs of CentOS 4.4 and one clean install of FC5, I am really at a bit of a loss at the moment.
     
  5. mgphoto

    mgphoto Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same issue with DNSONLY on CentOS 4.4 on 2 different boxes. Going on 4 hours each.
     
  6. rikgarner

    rikgarner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    /dev/null
    There is a common bug between Centos 4.4 and the DNSONLY build - I had exactly the same issue about two months ago. The fix involves breaking out of the install <CTRL+C> , editing a couple of lines of code in one of the scripts, and then running and upcp --force.

    I will see if I can dig out the instructions, but they are on the forums somewhere.
     
  7. rikgarner

    rikgarner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    /dev/null
    OK - found what fixed it for me!

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=60888&highlight=DNSOnly

    Either follow what is posted by mbdasco about half way down, alternatively, you could try manually installing Compress::Zlib

    (As root)
    cpan Compress::Zlib

    So, just to clarify:
    From a fresh (clean) server, run the DNSonly installer. When it gets stuck on the scrolling dots, break out of the installer with CTRL+C, patch cpcpan.pm as per the instructions from mbdasco in the thread above, or possibly try a manual install of compress:zlib, then run /scripts/upcp --force.

    Thats what fixed it for me.
     
Loading...

Share This Page