The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installed ClamAV RPMs - How do I know it's working?

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by SteveC, Jan 4, 2005.

  1. SteveC

    SteveC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just installed the ClamAV RPMs (clamav, clamav-server, clamav-update, clamav-data) from "Install an RPM". It's version 0.71 (the newest version is 0.80) but I'm fine with that for now.

    My question is:

    Do I need to do something to get it working or does it automatically start working and if so, how do I know it's working?


    Thanks
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    1. AFAIK, that version of ClamAV is no longer supported and you won't get updated virus definition files

    2. No. It'll just sit there until you configure it to do something :)

    I would recommend that you remove the rpm using:

    rpm -e <package name you installed>

    Then go into WHM > Addons and install cPanel Pro and the Clamavconnector. Or use something like exiscan or MailScanner:
    http://www.webumake.com/free/mailscanner.htm
    http://www.webumake.com/free/clamav.htm
     
  3. SteveC

    SteveC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the quick reply. I'll give cPanel Pro and ClamAVConnector a try.

    Thanks!
     
  4. SteveC

    SteveC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, I have done that. Now, is there any sort of option to have a line in the e-mail headers that says that the e-mail was scanned for viruses? Something to let our users and their e-mail recipients know (if they look at the headers) that the e-mail is being scanned for viruses? If not, no big deal.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No. The cPanel offering offers no configuration options. MailScanner can certainly do that for you, I don't know if exiscan can.
     
  6. SteveC

    SteveC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, thanks for the info! You've been a big help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page