The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installed CPanel on FreeBSD 5.4

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by kaosent, Jul 20, 2005.

1. kaosent

kaosent Active Member

Jul 12, 2005
    CPanel on FreeBSD 5.4

EDIT: I try to updtate this post as I go along, if it is helpful to you feel free to rate the post or reply to it and let me know!!! :) Also, if I have something wrong or missing please please let me know!!!.

<---original post--->

I am new to CPanel, and I switched from another software due to recent issues with it and FreeBSD. I must say that I am very very satisfied with CPanel, and despite a few little glitches during the install, it has been a wonderfull experience (so much so that I am buying multiple licenses :D )

This post is broken into two parts (FreeBSD OS and CPanel, and IPFW and CPanel), and I will apologize in advance because it is quite long. I post this here, for many reasons, I spent countless hours searching for a few of the tidbits in here to fix my problems (and some experimenting), and even more importantly I would like to see what experienced users can tell me about what aspects I may have done wrong along the way!

Server hardware (in case it is needed): Dual Xeon 2.8Ghz, Dual SATA 160GB RAID 0 w/ 3Ware Escalade PCI RAID 2GB DDR

Operating system FreeBSD 5.4 STABLE i386 with SMP kernel
    Partitioning: 1G / , 4G Swap, 1G /tmp, 7G /var, 7G /usr, ~135G /home
    Distribution: Developer, full binaries, sources, doc, & Linux compatability lib

Once SysInstall completed, I logged in and changed /etc/ssh/sshd_config:
    -changed ssh port to a {unique port #} –limited to protocol 2, set to a secondary IP

Compiled a tweaked multiprocessor kernel:
    SMP, enabled QUOTA, and IPFIREWALL (etc)