The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

installin an rpm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ladydi711, Feb 18, 2006.

  1. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have a customer request to install the openoffice rpm. My question, is there in risk to conflicts with cpanel or whm?

    Thanks in Advance,
    Diane
     
  2. majoosh

    majoosh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    hai lady

    yes u can install openoffice using the command rpm -ivh <openoffice .rpm>. But when open office is installed it will take up so much memory when loaded.
     
  3. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You want to install OpenOffice on a web hosting server machine? *PUZZLED*
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Indeed. Considering you should not be running Xwindows on a server anyway, what would be the point of installing openoffice - or did you mean something like opengroupware:
    http://www.opengroupware.org/
     
  5. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, I know it is an odd request, and I'm looking for good reasons why NOT to do it, but...

    Myself and another partner share this server; we have a total of about 50 hosted accounts. My partner is hoping to utilize the server for some application development work. One of the modules runs xvfb as a "headless" server. The app makes calls to openoffice to run a macro that converts documents (from/to what I'm not exactly sure).

    It won't be used all the time, and my dedicated server is not hurting much with it's current load.

    So, I appreceate the feedback on pros and cons as to doing this.

    Neither of us want to put any hurt on our existing hosted customers.

    Thanks again,
    Diane
     
  6. rankris

    rankris Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am also looking for an RPM for the same. Which one uou dhould choose for centOs?
     
  7. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I ended up getting the openoffice rpm from the Red Hat Network site.

    I'm not familiar with CentOS, but you might try here:
    http://rpm.pbone.net

    Advance Search for openoffice.org by rpm name, and CentOS. There are some there.
     
  8. rankris

    rankris Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Diane ,

    thank uuu sooo much.. keep rockinnn :D
     
  9. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page