The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

installing a backed up non cpanel website to server

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Simon Lloyd, Aug 15, 2009.

1. Simon Lloyd

Simon Lloyd Member

Hi all, im very very new to webhosting, in fact i am reselling some of my space on vps as i have far too much at the mo'

My problem is one of my colleagues has a non cpanel website (it looked like cpaenl only very very dated and was grey and purple? i believe) that he has backed up to his hard drive and wants to be hosted on my vps, i have whm too so creating the account etc is not a problem (that much i can manage) what im wondering is if he uploads everything via cpanel will it include his previous non cpanel control panel and will he then have problems with his site? also how would i/we install his databas if he has one?

As i said i know very very little about webhosting and am no webmaster!

2. Spiral

Spiral BANNED

There are a lot of unknowns with what you said to say that you really
    need an expert to take a look at this one (which fortunately I am).

For some other control panel systems, you can directly import the data
    from those systems. For others, you need to manually make some
    conversions to get things ported over and that takes a little know how.

Without knowing specifically what system you are porting from, I could
    not give you specific detailed instructions for what you need to do but
    I could probably tell you pretty quickly if I saw what you have.

At the very barebones minimum, I'd need to know what system you
    are converting from and can maybe put something together from that.

Anyway, to answer your main question though, yes you should be able
    to import the account into Cpanel assuming everything needed for the