Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

installing a dot com account

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by keat63, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Guys.

    My server has 2 x co.uk and 2 x .org.uk entries for name servers.
    My boss has decided that he now wants to install a .com domain.

    Will this work ?
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you mean you want to create new .com account on your server ?

    Yes, you can create that and also you create separate name-server(ns1.domian..com and ns2.domain.com) for your that .com domain.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    From what i can see, whm has only 4 entries for name servers, and these are already populated with.

    NS1 & NS2 domain1.co.uk
    NS1 & NS2 domain2.org.uk

    We only really need it for emails.
    I've created a test .com account from a spare domain i own, and emails seem to work.

    At the moment, at registrar level, i have testdomain.com pointing to NS1.domain1.co.uk and NS2.domain1.co.uk

    Are there any DNS implications by putting a .com on a server that has no .com name servers
     
    #3 keat63, Sep 16, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2015
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,183
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    No, DNS should still function as expected.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks chaps.
    The boss wants a .com to use purely for personal emails.
    I didn't want to go out and purchase a .com domain, to find later down the line that i'd have issues.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice