Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Installing CentOS and cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by heyjim, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. heyjim

    heyjim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    I'm using the CentOS and cPanel ISO that's available on the cPanel website and I have reached this networking screen.

    Could someone confirm if these settings need to be my public IPs?

    centos_net.png

    Thanks
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,491
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Yes, you should be using your public IP addresses unless you plan to configure private IP addresses and utilize 1:1 NAT.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. heyjim

    heyjim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Michael :)

    For the nameservers, does that have to be my ISP's DNS?

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,491
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should use public IP addresses associated with the cPanel server for your name servers if you plan on using the cPanel server for DNS purposes. Remember that name servers are registered to the correct IP addresses at the domain registrar.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. heyjim

    heyjim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ahh, my IPS only gave me 1 IP. Do I need to request more or can I make it work with just 1?

    Thanks

    - - - Updated - - -

    Sorry, above should read ISP

    Thanks
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,491
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can use the same IP address for multiple name servers. It can be the same IP address that you assign to accounts.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice