The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing cPanel first time on server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Spetsnaz, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. Spetsnaz

    Spetsnaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    How come my resolv.conf is set to
    search localhost
    ?
     
    #1 Spetsnaz, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You would need to ask your host about that. cPanel does not add that to /etc/resolv.conf. /etc/resolv.conf is part of the operating system, not part of cPanel, and cPanel does not modify it.
     
  3. Spetsnaz

    Spetsnaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    It was pointed to find localhost and change it to google DNS.
     
  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm sure it was, but the cPanel installer did not do it. The cPanel installer does not edit /etc/resolv.conf. It is an operating system-level issue, and you need to talk to your host about this.
     
  5. Spetsnaz

    Spetsnaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I know, it was because in SolusVM they forgot to add the DNS.
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please be more specific. It may not be installed properly, if it is not working. What do you mean by "can't run?" Do you mean that the cPanel service is not running, or that you cannot access cPanel in a Web browser? What, exactly, are you doing, and what happens, to cause you to say "can't run?" Please list the exact steps you are taking, along with exactly what you see after each step, and also list in their entirety any error messages that you see.
     
Loading...

Share This Page