Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Installing cPanel for first time: Partition

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Balcones, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. Balcones

    Balcones Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello all, What are some recommended partition settings for cPanel? I am looking to have customers on the server and would like to make my server future proof so I won't have to re-configure something later on. I have set mines to:

    /boot 1024MB PRIMARY EXT4 |
    /swap 16384MB PRIMARY SWAP |
    / 40960MB PRIMARY EXT4 |
    /usr 36864MB LOGICAL EXT4 |
    /var 65536MB LOGICAL EXT4 |
    /home remaining LOGICAL EXT4 |

    Is this too much or okay? This is a CentOS 6.4 box, Intel Xeon Quad w/ HT, 8 gigs of RAM, and 2 x 1TB drives (RAID1)
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,400
    Likes Received:
    1,951
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Balcones

    Balcones Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What would be the size for /boot, /usr, /var, and / if I left it alone?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,400
    Likes Received:
    1,951
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Could you expand on your question a bit more? For example, are you asking what size you should make those partitions if you decide to separate them as individual partitions?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Balcones

    Balcones Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Like my server provider (OVH.ca) is defaulting me to have 20Gigs for /, 512MB for Swap, and home rest of the drive. Would that be ideal because my server a Intel Xeon Quad w/ HT, 8 gigs of RAM, and 2 x 1TB drives (RAID1) and Swap seems to little.

    And hearing that you should use as swap 2 times the amount of physical RAM.

    - - - Updated - - -

    The thing is, I am not advanced at partioning at setup and redoing it over incase I am using the server for customers. Would the configurations above on the first post would be ideal or not? Is it too much I am giving to the server?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,400
    Likes Received:
    1,951
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Ideally, your partition setup should be:

    Partition Size
    / - Grow to fill disk (We recommend at least 40 GB.))
    swap - 2x the server's RAM


    You can view the guides if you opt for advanced partitioning at:

    Advanced Partitioning Options

    I don't see any problems with the partition setup you provided in your initial post based on these recommendations.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice