The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing cPanel Pro... not working

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by jdonoso, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. jdonoso

    jdonoso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Third Rock from The Sun!
    Hi,

    I want to install cPanel Pro, but after checking the mark for it in Addon Modules, and clicking save, it says complete but nothing happens. I don't find the features for it. Also, there is suppose to appear a Uninstall button bellow it (in Addon Modules), but there's nothing there.

    Can I uninstall it and/or install it via ssh?

    Thank you,
     
  2. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    http://pro.cpanel.net/activate

    First you need to activate the license. Then you can install it via WHM.

    If it won't install via WHM then you can do the below via SSH:

    wget 'http://pro:download@pro.cpanel.net/cpanelpro-Linux-0.9.9.2.tar.gz'
    tar xfzv cpanelpro-Linux-0.9.9.2.tar.gz
    rm -rf cpanelpro-Linux-0.9.9.2.tar.gz
    cd cpanelpro-Linux-0.9.9.2
    ./install
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Your probably not resolving domains on your server. Try the following from shell:

    dig updates.cpanel.net

    If it doesn't resolve, then you need to add correct DNS resolvers to your /etc/resolv.conf file.
     
  4. jdonoso

    jdonoso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Third Rock from The Sun!
    Hello ppl,

    Thank you very much for your replies. My license was already activated, and based on Donna's response, I discovered that my firewall (yes, dumb me forgot I had recently installed APF :eek: ) was not allowing traffic go to the domain pro.cpanel.net so nothing could be downloaded when doing the install procedure via WHM.

    After adding it to my allow rules list in APF, it worked like a charm :p

    Thanks Chirpy also, for pointing me out in confirming my firewall was the problem. :D


    Best regards,
     
  5. eleven2

    eleven2 Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here, been working on this all night and just figured out it was APF.
     
  6. jdonoso

    jdonoso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Third Rock from The Sun!
    Yes, APF can be a saviour or a little devil. :cool: Glad you were able to solve it thanks to this post. :)

    Best regards,
     
  7. bullethost696

    bullethost696 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England, UK
    APF is doing its job so there is no reason to moan
     
  8. jsweet

    jsweet Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I get this error when trying to install pro from within Cpanel, is this the same issue as above? thanks

    Updating pro....
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/addons/modules/pro-Linux-i686/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.152
    ...Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/addons/modules/pro-Linux-i686/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.151
    100%......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/addons/modules/pro-Linux-i686/install.bz2....100%......Done
    md5sum mismatch (actual: 7d837815650969e61363a621aec0e89b) (expected: 313b685013ce4689236a06cce76b6277)
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/addons/modules/pro-Linux-i686/install....100%......Done
    md5sum mismatch (actual: 7d837815650969e61363a621aec0e89b) (expected: 313b685013ce4689236a06cce76b6277)
    Download Failed... trying again..
     
  9. jsweet

    jsweet Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I guess persistance pays off. It works now and this is the process I went through, and not from anyones recommendation, just trying different things.

    I decided to try "Upgrade to Latest Version" in C-panel, but change the version to "bleeding edge" seeing pro is in beta. Seemed to make sense seeing it may not load seeing it's in beta and my setting was set at Release tree.

    That didn't work, so I switched back to Release tree ran update again and lo and behold it loaded and it works now. Go figure...?..?.. And realize it wouldn't load when doing an update prior in the "release tree" setting.
     
  10. DjMiX

    DjMiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What is Cpanel PRO ? Where can I see some information about it ? Nothing is said on http://pro.cpanel.net
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Do a search on the forums, it's been described in detail a number of times.
     
Loading...

Share This Page