The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing CPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hamasaki, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. hamasaki

    hamasaki Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I wonder if you can give me some help. I have a client who has a dedicated server. This server has a few websites currently running, but has no control panel.

    We thought we could sign up and purchase cPanel to install on the server, but if I`m reading the installation correctly, cPanel cannot be installed on a server thats currently running websites. Is that correct?

    We initially signed up for the 15 day trial licence, but if its not going to work its not worth pursuing any further. If it is possible to still install cPanel, how do we get someone from cPanel to set it up for us? I notice cPanel offers free installation?

    Thanks for the help,
    h.
     
  2. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel is best installed on an empty server. I would not recommend installing it on a system with websites unless you are prepared to migrate them all to cPanel directly.
     
  3. hamasaki

    hamasaki Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Eric,

    What does that mean exactly? Sorry, I`m not really clued up on setting up control panels. I am familiar with cPanel/WHM from a reseller perspective and nothing more.

    Would it mean that each site on the server would need to have a cpanel account created for it? And would it have any affect on the current sites? It would be a disaster if any data was lost. or do you mean if we migrate the account to yourselves?

    If you don`t recommend it, we`ll just go without.

    David.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The quickest (and safest) way to do a migration would be to install cPanel/WHM on another server, migrate the accounts to that spare server then migrate that cPanel/WHM server to your production hardware.
     
  5. hamasaki

    hamasaki Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gotcha. Ok thanks.

    We were kind of hoping it would be easier than that as we don`t have a spare server available and its not worth getting one just to get cpanel up and running.

    Appreciate the help.
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will give you another option if you want to talk to me privately ...

    I can get Cpanel installed for you and all your existing hosting accounts
    converted into Cpanel accounts without any data loss and without your
    needing to have another spare server and do it with minimal downtime.

    The reason they are telling you above to use a second server is because
    most of the conversion utilities work that way but it is not all that difficult
    to manually convert accounts and the related data if you know what you
    are doing and have a deep understanding about all the hosting formats,
    applications, systems, and control panels out there which I do and it
    would not be a problem. I've done many conversions like that before
    both changing to and from cpanel as the new control panel.
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've seen many cPanel/WHM installations fail or hang because of pre-existing server software. You may want to keep this in mind if you do attempt this at your own risk.
     
  8. hamasaki

    hamasaki Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. And Spiral, appreciate your offer. For now we have decided to stay as we are.
     
  9. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe for you! ;) *DEVILISH EVIL GRIN*
     
Loading...

Share This Page