Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Installing custom roundcube RPM in Cpanel version 58 and newer

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Miguel G, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. Miguel G

    Miguel G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I have found that the old way of installing the source tarball doesn´t work anymore in Cpanel version 58 or newer.

    I have installed Cpanel version 60 and I have looked into this instructions:

    How to Build and Install Custom RPMs - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    but It only talks about customizing RPMs not where to download the source RPM for roundcube or how to install it and which version to use.

    I don´t mind not to use the latest version, I actually just want to be able to mark emails as spam and not rely on the antispam script.

    If it is easier to enable any plugin, please let me know how to do it.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,585
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Are you speaking of SpamAssassin?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Miguel G

    Miguel G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, it's activated. I know roundcube can have a button enabled to mark emails as spam
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,585
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Where have you seen this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Miguel G

    Miguel G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I happen to have seen it in a webmail from a mail provider and they are using roundcube.

    I attach a screenshot (It´s in Spanish, but the button is named SPAM)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    384
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Roundcube has a comprehensive library of plugins that are available from Roundcube Webmail Plugin Repository

    I believe the screenshot you show, probably has one or more of these plugins deployed.

    I do not know if they are compatible with, or can even be installed on, a cPanel deployment of Roundcube.

    I would exercise extreme cation before attempting to deploy any of these plugins, including having full bare metal server backups to fall back on if it all goes wrong !
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Miguel G

    Miguel G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, this plugin might probably be markasjunk and in fact it´s the list of plugins of my Cpanel installation.

    However, I don´t understand why most of these plugins are not enabled and there are no instructions of how to enable them in a roundcube installation in Cpanel.

    Can anyone shed any light on this?
     
  8. Miguel G

    Miguel G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, searching around I see I can that in /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/roundcube/config/config.inc.php

    I changed it from

    Code:
    $config['plugins'] = array('cpanellogin','cpanellogout');
    to

    Code:
    $config['plugins'] = array('cpanellogin','cpanellogout','markasjunk');
    This works as expected, but I assume this won´t work if Roundcube gets updated, am I right?
     
  9. Miguel G

    Miguel G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    After a few days working, an autoupdate removed this configuration. Any way to make it permanent?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice