The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing forums on to a subdomain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by buttstroke, Aug 19, 2012.

  1. buttstroke

    buttstroke Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    How do I do this? There are so many options on the ui I haven't figured it out yet.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,455
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Installing a forum in a sub domain should be the same as installing in public_html.
     
  3. PlotHost

    PlotHost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's very easy to install a forum script if you have Fantastico or Softaculous. Anyway ask your hosting company for some help.
     
    #3 PlotHost, Aug 23, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, the question is incredibly broad. We don't know how you are trying to install the forum. Are you using cPanel > Site Software area to install phpBB3? If so, then you'd log into cPanel and click on Site Software, then click on phpBB3, then select the subdomain in the "Installation URL:" dropdown after filling out the fields above it.

    If you aren't using what cPanel provides but either Fantastico, Softaculous, or manually installing it, there are plenty of resources on Google to determine how to install a forum onto a subdomain. Typically, you first need to go into cPanel > MySQL Databases area to add a database, add a database user and add the database user to the database if you are installing manually. The only change during the manual setup would then be to ensure the files are uploaded to the subdomain and that the url points to the directory for the subdomain for the directory path.

    While I agree your hosting provider should help with these questions, if the question was specifically about cPanel's Site Software area and installing onto phpBB3 for a subdomain, you are welcome to pose questions on what we provide here, since we support what we provide.
     
Loading...

Share This Page