The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing ImageMagick through WHM -> Software -> Install an RPM... two entries the same?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by morrow95, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. morrow95

    morrow95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just came across the need for ImageMagick on my server and went to install through WHM's Install an RPM. Going down the list I came across multiple entries for ImageMagick.

    ImageMagick
    ImageMagick
    ImageMagick-c++
    ImageMagick-c++
    ImageMagick-c++-devel
    ImageMagick-devel
    ImageMagick-devel
    ImageMagick-perl

    I guess my question is... why the same entries are listed twice? All of them except perl show up twice in my options list to install. For fear that something could go wrong I want to hold off on installing before I find an answer to this as I have to assume there are differences just the same name showing. For my situation I only need ImageMagick for php so I assume 'ImageMagick' is what I need, but then there are two entries.

    Any clarification?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can run the /scripts/installimagemagick script as the root user via SSH to install ImageMagick.

    Then, if you require PHP bindings with Apache, these bindings can be installed via the PECL utility:

    Code:
    /usr/local/bin/pecl install imagick
    Thank you.
     
  3. feldon27

    feldon27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3 feldon27, Oct 15, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2014
  4. vicos

    vicos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just a quick note:

    The ImageMagick binaries used to go into /usr/local/bin. Now, I see they are in /usr/bin

    You can do a quick check to see which if either directory they are in:

    /usr/bin/convert -version

    /usr/local/bin/convert -version
     
  5. jsw4

    jsw4 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There are 64 bit versions and 32 bit versions. (At least for ImageMagick it appears that the first one is 32bit and the second is 64.)
    -JW
     
Loading...

Share This Page