The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Joomla on main domain not in the public_html ? Fantastico.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yell, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. yell

    yell Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.
    In my hosting account I have main_domain.com and few other_domains.com folders.
    When I'm installing Joomla by Fantastico to other domains its installing files to other_domain.com folder.
    But when I installing Joomla to main_domain.com, whole files goes to public_html and its not comfortable.
    Is there any method to install Jommla directly to public_html/main_domain.com folder ?
     
    #1 yell, Mar 19, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
  2. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Is main_domain.com the main domain of your cPanel account that you see on the left column opposite "Main Domain" when you log into cPanel. Note that main domain is the primary domain of your cPanel account and its document root is actually the public_html folder. If you want to install Joomla in "public_html/main_domain.com", you need to ask your host to switch main_domain.com with some other and create main_domain.com as addon pointing to "public_html/main_domain.com".

     
  3. yell

    yell Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So actually it's not healthy to use main domain's name of your hosting for the working site if you planning adding addon domains ?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello yell,

    You can install Joomla in public_html if you don't already have content there for another program or haven't installed another Fantastico script there. Are you getting an error installing it into public_html location? If so, please provide the actual error message here.

    I'm going to link to a discussion on what is likely happening that explains how to resolve the issue (if this is what error you are getting anyway):

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/problem-fantastico-wordpress-78579.html#post363261

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page