The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Magento !

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nockster, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. Nockster

    Nockster Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello all,
    could anyone please tell me if they have had any problems installing Magento onto cPanel ?

    I have started the installation process but come across 2 x PHP Extension errors :-

    pdo_mysql
    iconv

    Does cPanel support these extensions ? Is there a way around this ?

    Please help

    Many thanks
    Simon
     
  2. troxalias

    troxalias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Athens - Greece
    You should recompile apache through whm and specificaly enable these 2 extensions among others.
     
  3. Nockster

    Nockster Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello again. Have had a look at my cPanel and there is no option to re-compile Apache and do the necessary actions. I only have the basic package, would I need to upgrade at all to get WHM ?

    Many thanks
    Simon
     
  4. gupi

    gupi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You need full root access (usually as for a dedicated server or a VPS) in order to recompile Apache.
    A second option would be for you to buy a small VPS, without cPanel, just for this site (the free control panel called webmin should be enough for your needs)
     
  5. Zion Ahead

    Zion Ahead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Where is PDO found in apache compile (via whm)??? I could not find it in the exhaustive list.

    Using php 4 / mysql 4
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The EasyApache system only supports PDO for PHP 5.

    If you are still using PHP 4, note that it reaches end of life in exactly 6 months. You may wish to switch to PHP 5 or at least a concurrent PHP 4 and 5 setup as soon as possible.
     
  7. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You will have to find a host that supports this if you don't have root access. We set up our server for a user that wished to run it and found it to be a storefront in it's infancy and not a practical solution for an ecommerce site. Might be better off choosing a different solution rather than change hosts.
     
  8. aegis

    aegis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Magento is only a beta release currently. It's not due for a non-beta before end of March. It's very powerful. It's got great potential to finally see off OSCommerce or Zen Cart which are frankly past their sell by date. Bits of OSCommerce rely on php3 behaviour - awful.

    It does however require a bit of admin to get the server prepared for it and it's also currently a little too slow to be used in shared hosting environments IME. The first visit to a site with it running is pretty slow as it loads up it's frameworks but after that it's pretty good.

    I've got it running on one of my servers for the intrepid but I wouldn't use it in production use yet.
     
  9. gdromig

    gdromig Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do this mean that Magento has to have php5 running as CGI?
    Does PEAR have to be pre-installed? Because the users error message talks about pear-STABLE failing:

    Downloading and installing Magento, please wait...

    Attempting to discover channel "pear"...
    unknown channel "pear" in "pear/PEAR-stable"
    invalid package name/package file "pear/PEAR-stable"
    Cannot initialize 'pear/PEAR-stable', invalid or missing package file

    Lots more errors after this first one.

    TIA,
    gdr
     
    #9 gdromig, Mar 28, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2008
  10. aegis

    aegis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Magento is PHP v5 only as it uses the Zend Framework. You can run it as a cgi or not.

    PEAR doesn't need to be installed, the installer should do it itself.

    If you've got errors you're probably best asking in the magento forum. http://www.magentocommerce.com/
     
Loading...

Share This Page