The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Nagios

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by beachcomp, Aug 2, 2005.

  1. beachcomp

    beachcomp Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  2. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    you have to log into shell and edit httpd.conf
    pico /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    and when you are done you have to restart it with
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart
     
  3. beachcomp

    beachcomp Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Im SO new to this.. all I know is to use putty on Windows.
    Any ideas?
     
    #3 beachcomp, Aug 2, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2005
  4. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    do you have root access ?
    is this your server , if so then you can log into root by using putty and type those comands :)
     
  5. beachcomp

    beachcomp Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's a VPS.
    I get the following when in there as root:
    root@server [~]# pico /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
    -bash: pico: command not found
    root@server [~]#
    :confused:
     
  6. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    VPS is different to dedicated server with root access, just check with your host what the path to httpd.conf is or run locate httpd.conf
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you're using su to login to your root account, make sure that you use a dash:

    su -

    Otherwise your environment won't work correctly. If pico still doesn't work, see if nano is installed instead which is a pico replacement:

    whereis nano

    If it does exist it's probably a good idea to create a symlink for pico to it:

    cd /usr/bin
    ln -s nano pico
     
Loading...

Share This Page