Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Installing new SSL certificate

Discussion in 'Security' started by PatrickVeenstra, Feb 8, 2019.

  1. PatrickVeenstra

    PatrickVeenstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Barcelona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After buying (and installing) a new SSL certificate because the old one expired, I'm still getting the expired warning.

    BTW I installed the certificate by copy-pasting it into the text box, but using the "install" button returns:
    Template::Exception:
    [TYPE]=[undef]
    [INFO]=[SSL::installed_hosts() failed: You do not have the feature “sslinstall”.
    ]
    [TEXT]=[]
    at cpanel.pl line 1031.
    cpanel::cpanel::cptt_exectag("/usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/paper_lantern/ssl/install.htm"..., 1) called at cpanel.pl line 4383
    cpanel::cpanel::run_standard_mode() called at cpanel.pl line 845
    cpanel::cpanel::script("cpanel::cpanel", "./frontend/paper_lantern/ssl/install.html.tt") called at cpanel.pl line 267

    edit: I've "upgraded" the account to the default feature set to make sure "SSL Host Installer" is active.

    p.s. Is it a bug that when you remove a certificate is CPanel it still shows up in WHM? -I've removed it from WHM also, and now it's gone.
     
    #1 PatrickVeenstra, Feb 8, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  2. PatrickVeenstra

    PatrickVeenstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Barcelona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Follow up: the bug is as is, but the

    solution
    is to install the certificate from WHM and NOT from CPanel.
     
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,476
    Likes Received:
    507
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @PatrickVeenstra

    This isn't a known issue if this is something that's reproducible on your system I'd encourage you to open a ticket with us so we can look into it further.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. PatrickVeenstra

    PatrickVeenstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Barcelona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @cPanelLauren, I opened a ticket a little while before I created this thread. In fact I looked how to close it after finding the solution, but couldn't find a way, so it's still open.
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,476
    Likes Received:
    507
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Can you tell me the ticket ID?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. PatrickVeenstra

    PatrickVeenstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Barcelona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also in WHM:
    Home »SSL/TLS »Purchase and Install an SSL Certificate
    Click on the account's: "Goto CPanel" and you get "This feature is not available to your account."

    It seems that somehow the ticket didn't get opened correctly. So I've created a new ticket: #11412861
     
  7. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,476
    Likes Received:
    507
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @PatrickVeenstra

    I just checked in on that ticket and it would appear this was due to the Tweak Setting option "Allow cPanel users to install SSL Hosts." being disabled, as well as internal case CPANEL-24656 which has been corrected in cPanel / WHM 78 and is reflected in our changelog here:
    78 Change Log - Change Logs - cPanel Documentation

    To resolve the issue for you presently our analyst enabled the tweak setting and then rebuilt the cache allowing for the setting to actually reflect as being enabled.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. PatrickVeenstra

    PatrickVeenstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Barcelona
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The setting was enabled (at least on the other account), but CPanel didn't rebuild the cache.

    In case anyone else has this issue, you can rebuild the cache manually from the command line: /usr/local/cpanel/bin/build_global_cache
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice